Recovery

Recovery was a snap. Absolute snap. Here’s the shorthand version of how it went.

Saturday: Extreme pain; trip to the E.R.

Sunday: Oopherectomy at 8 a.m.; checked out of the hospital by 3. Back online by 8.

Monday: Sitting up in bed, finishing some work, cuddling the kids, and taking a nap.

Tuesday: Downtown for some long-anticipated meetings.

Wednesday: The same, although I had to leave early because, frankly, I was exhausted.

Thursday: Back to OB/GYN for postsurgical followup and stitches removal. Made him laugh hysterically (ooh, funny choice of word, Freud) when he saw my Lightening McQueen band-aids. We pored over the pictures together, he took out the stitches, and sent me home.

Friday: Life. Goes. On.

We’re still waiting for the biopsy results and a confirmation that a bone lesion is nothing to worry about, but other than that, we’re home free.

Free to celebrate each other.

birthday cake

Somebody's having a birthday!

Let the chocolate cupcake eating begin!

28 Responses to Recovery

  1. Kimberly says:

    Love that picture. So glad your home and happy and celebrating🙂 Happy birthday to your little prince!

  2. debi says:

    You have such cute sons. Your smile, it is the best and true smile I have ever seen. My best to you Susan.

  3. Nancy says:

    You sure look like you are feeling great. You glow inside and out (could be in part your proximity to the little guy!) 😉 And your hair is looking fabulous.

  4. ilinap says:

    Happy Birthday to your little guy! You sure don’t look like you just had surgery!

  5. You are absolutely glowing!

    Happy Birthday to your little man!!

  6. Linda Lawrence says:

    Happy to hear recovery is going well. Great to see birthday picture!
    🙂 🙂

  7. Stimey says:

    Love it. Gorgeous photo of the two of you. Happy Birthday to Widget!

  8. momma knows says:

    YAY on the recovery…your a trooper, I hope you know this🙂

  9. Wait, you went for the hysterical pun but held off on saying the doctor had you in stitches?

  10. mandi says:

    that is a great picture. I definately agree you are absolutely glowing, you look marvelous.

  11. Amelie says:

    Happy Birthday, little guy!

  12. Robin says:

    Happy birthday Widget! Can I get a beater too?

  13. m says:

    You are phenomenal. And your little guy is adorable. Enjoy those cupcakes now that you are pain-free!

  14. Fantastic news that the recovery has been swift. And dammit woman you get more gorgeous every day!

    Happy Birthday little guy!

  15. DeafMom says:

    Happy Birthday to the little one! What a trooper– you have surgery and march on. Wishing you a clear diagnosis of that lesion!

  16. Susie says:

    Happy to hear that you are recovering nicely – and just in time for a birthday party. Enjoy!

  17. Meg says:

    You are such a rock star!
    Enjoy the birthday celebrations.

  18. Susan K says:

    Ok, so here’s my question. Cupcake batter. No eggs, fake eggs, special bought from the organic farm no worry about disease eggs or who the heck cares, the chances are so slim and EVERY kid should get to eat his own cake batter eggs?

    Have fun! Say – when IS that bday anyway – I’m the 2nd!

  19. whymommy says:

    Susan K, it was totally a throw-caution-to-the-wind I-just-beat-cancer every-kid-should-get-to-lick-the-spoon kind of a day.

    Normally, I resist. But yesterday? No reason to!

    Birthday WEEKEND around here!

  20. JessicaAPISS says:

    WOW! I would have thought you were being your brave, John Wayne self but then this picture…you are glowing! You look gorgeous!

    I am so glad that your procedure was a snap.

    Happy Birthday Widget!

  21. BetteJo says:

    That laparoscopic (sp?) stuff makes all the difference, doesn’t it? You look FABULOUS and HAPPY! And so does the birthday boy. 🙂
    Have a wonderful and relaxed weekend!

  22. Leann I Am says:

    It’s so good to see pictures of your smiliing, energetic face! Keep ’em coming!

  23. Susan K says:

    Why Mommy,

    OH excellent!! Now I have permission to do the same thing. Birthdays for the girls in October – I see spoon licking! Its just sad that I even need to have this thought… 8 years old and never tasted raw batter or cookie dough.

    Does anyone else remember REAL Caesar salads?

  24. Damn! You are like SUPER WOMAN! Happy Birthday to Widget, too. My Sunshine just turned 4 this week as well, and we had some cupcakes of our own.

  25. imstell says:

    I know I can’t keep up on all my blogs like I used to… but am I the only one who noticed the words “bone lesion”?

    Do tell!

  26. Bon says:

    Widget is beautiful…and so are you. same eyebrows, bone structure…

    your hair is getting long. glad recovery is going smoothly.

    now, yeh…bone lesion?

  27. whymommy says:

    Yeah. Bone lesion. On my right hip. And patchiness in the lungs. They discovered these things while clearing me for surgery for the twisting ovary. I don’t want to worry family, though, so I’m not writing about it until we hear one way or another. But it does make it tough. to handle this weekend. Another weekend of waiting.

    Well, and cupcakes.

  28. diva65 says:

    Saying prayers that you’re test results are ok. You look beautiful!!

