Not-so-perfect pitch

Many of us who went to BlogHer and passed out cards are now being approached by advertisers to promote products on our blogs.  Some of us do, and some of us don’t. (And some of us do, on other sites. I don’t do products on this blog, but I will review things on my other blog, Review Planet.  Just cause it’s fun, and it’s been a way for me to learn about new products when I wasn’t out and about in the stores this year.  But I don’t do them over here, with rare exception.)

This pitch I found particularly hilarious this morning:

After looking at your site, I feel that you and your audience would be interested in knowing about us and our little contest! The idea is simple: we’re looking for healthy, active moms who can tell their story, give advice and empower moms who aspire to “do it all” without neglecting themselves

Um.

No.

I doubt you looked at my site much.

17 Responses to Not-so-perfect pitch

  1. Mom101 says:

    This may in fact be the best bad pitch story in the history of all bad pitches. If they referred to you as “Dear Susan” it would clinch it for sure.

    Sorry WhyMommy. That kind of sucks.

  2. Andrea says:

    Seriously, I wonder if these folks even give our sites a glance. I get pitches for highly processed food products. All. The. Time. “We’d love for you to share our bladdy blah with your readers.” Yeah right. Obviously they haven’t figured out I’m a scratch cook or noticed that we grow our own produce and I sponsor a monthly blogging event about it. And it’s all right on the front page. Oy.

  3. I just got a weird spam today that accused me of sending him corrupted files. Maybe you could send that pitch to my spammer; they might get along.

  4. HeatherK says:

    I don’t know whether to laugh or shake my fist. Form letter, much? Ugh!

  5. Manic Mommy says:

    That, my friend, is some pitch poor planning.

  6. deb says:

    Well, if nothing else, they gave you a laugh, which is a good thing.

  7. Well I guess in cyberspace, women of today want to get the quickest and most reliable information they could ever get. They also seek information like this to find a community where they share the sentiments. I have been invited by some sites and as a form of spreading valuable information to everyone, I post them. Having a sales pitch doesn’t really matter as long as you have a good one.🙂

    Anyways, I would like to suggest this site: Olga’s Relief. You might find some valuable information regarding Woman’s Health and Issues here. Cheers!

  8. tori says:

    I got the same one. I replied that I don’t do straight advertising but would be willing to talk about reviewing something and they never got back to me.

  9. canape says:

    At least they weren’t asking you to review sports bras.

    Assholes.

  10. hotfessional says:

    But honey! You are healthy now, right? Okay, so maybe you’re not running marathons…but still.😉

    No, the emailers were idiots.

  11. Hi there,

    I would love to believe they were referring to moms who were “Healthy Survivors,” namely survivors who get good care and live as fully as possible. In my book, you ARE a Healthy Survivor.

    Although it’s unlikely they had any idea your blog is an uplifting testiment to real life with cancer, I like to think they were right in a far deeper sense than they intended.

    With hope, Wendy

  12. whymommy says:

    Wendy, Ree, all … that’s so very sweet of you. Of course. That’s a great way to think about it.

    But it did make me laugh yesterday morning.

    Life with cancer … I suppose that’s where we are now, right? Or is it life after cancer?

    Too close to call.

  13. canape says:

    Maybe I’m just grumpy, but I still say they are assholes.

    They didn’t read your blog. It was a crappy pitch, and I’m glad you got a chuckle out of it. I did too.

    Surely Clifford can join me in the pessimistic minority here?

  14. clifford says:

    *peeks out from under stack of pillows*

    “Cry havoc! And let slip the dogs of…er, Canape?”

    YM, you should told them you’d put your healthy, active foot in their rear ends if they disrespected you with their serial lameness again.

  15. clifford says:

    YM, you are at “life after curb-stomping cancer”. Just my opinion there.

  16. canape says:

    Dude. I just got the same exact pitch.

    I’m so delighted I got to give them the what for.

    I refrained from calling them assholes and used only grown up language. For the most part.

