When I’m stressed I clean….

… and even the yard is not safe from my merciless hand.  Having ruthlessly pruned the blueberries, blackberries, and the butterfly bushes during last week’s stress, the overgrown forsythia became the object of my wrath this weekend.

Saturday:

Saturday

Saturday

Sunday:

Sunday

Sunday

And the hand itself, now suffering from a bug bite or a touch of poision ivy that can’t escape because of the lymphedema problem.  My hand swelled up in response, turning red, puffy, and painful.  Doc says it’s just an infection and antibiotics will clear it up.  Nothing to worry about, but it does kind of show you what I’m talking about when I say lymphedema in the fingers and hand.  This is what it looked like, 2 hours after I got bitten/exposed to poison ivy:

lymphedema in right pointer finger

lymphedema in right pointer finger

Again, nothing to worry about.  Just wanted to put it out there in case people were wondering what on earth I meant.

8 Responses to When I’m stressed I clean….

  1. Susan K says:

    Next time you get that urge – give me a call. We’ve got a holly shrub that REALLY needs a good cutting back!

    Take it easy – glad to hear the Dr. says no big deal on the hand – but take it easy anyway.

  2. Alison says:

    I can always tell when my husband is cross with me as he starts cleaning furiously! I wish I had the same response to stress/irritation – I’d have a spotless house, instead of a spreading waistline due to sitting on the couch drowning my sorrows with a glass of wine!!

  3. canape says:

    I’m keeping my mouth shut. And shopping for gloves for you.

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your poor forsythia and butterfly bush! OK, not as sorry as I am that your hand hurts. It will mean that there will be hardly any forsythia flowers next year (they bloom on the previous summer’s growth, hence should be pruned immediately after flowering, when they should be hacked mercilessly) and fewer late-summer winged visitors (butterfly bush blooms on the current year’s growth, hence should be cut to about 6″ from the ground in February). On the other hand, I rather doubt you were actually looking for gardening advice.🙂 Blessings for quick healing of the hand infection.

  5. Hope you feel better soon and everything is clear…
    I clean like that too.

  6. Alice C says:

    Now… I realise that this is a serious blog dealing with serious issues and I have always respected that in my comments…

    BUT

    your mention of poison ivy reminded me of this…

  7. Aunt Pat says:

    Dear Susan ,

    Always wear gloves when working outside !!

    Love

  8. whymommy says:

    Now you tell me!

    Only kidding. I did wear gloves. I don’t know how that little sucker got me … turns out it was just a bug bite. But … ouch!

    And yes, I knew that about the bushes, but the forsythia was overtaking the yard. I’m hoping for nice new growth in the spring.

    The blueberries, butterfly bushes, and blackberries only got what they deserved. I mean needed. I cut back old growth, and not nearly so drastically.

    Now, to clear brush back in the forest….

