Cancer cannot have me.

This video says it all.

Cancer has taken a lot of things from me.  But it has not and never will take my spirit, my ideas, my soul.

Or our ability to change the world, one little step at a time.  Join me in the challenge this week, won’t you?  Simply go out of your way a bit to encourage or lift someone up, write about it here in the comments or on your blog, and I’ll link everyone up next Wednesday.  Let’s see what we can do … a few nice words at a time.

14 Responses to Cancer cannot have me.

  1. The World Is Truly Blessed Because You Are In It…

  2. Tina says:

    Today my cousin lost her baby… 5th miscarriage in 16 months of IVF treatments. I called and left on her message machine, “Dulcy, I love you and I’m here for you if need an ear, if you need a shoulder because you’re not just my cousin, you’re one of my best friends.” I hope it helps.

    Thank you for putting out this challange. Sometimes we worry more about bothering someone instead of calling them to let them know how we feel. I got over that today. My cousin didn’t want to talk, she let the phone go to Voice mail but she will hear the words that came from my heart when she’s ready.

  3. Today I made an unexpected stop by my Aunt’s house to give her a hug, tell her that we love her, and to give her a old fashion fan to help with the “internal heat” from the radiation.

    Her attitude is strong and so is she. Cancer cannot have her either! We won’t let it!!!

  4. Gidge says:

    My friend is losing her father to a lung cancer, detected unbelievably late. He has days rather than months or weeks. We are separated by 1000 miles but I sent her this note yesterday.

    “I am so sorry that I cannot be there with you, to make margaritas, to do laundry, to get our nails done, and to just give you a hug during this time. I want you to know that I love you and I miss you and that your dad did a great job.

    He lived a wonderful purposed life – he gave the world you.

    Thinking of you always, and so sorry I cannot be there.”

  5. Karen says:

    OFF-TOPIC!!!!

    I’m sorry to place this here, because I know it’s completely unrelated, but I didn’t see any e-mail contact for you. I’m sure you already know about this, but I just saw in our local weekly newspaper a listing for:

    Montgomery College panel discussion on motherhood among women scientists, 2:30 p.m. Theatre Arts Arena, 51 Mannakee St., Rockville. Information: Miriam Carter, 240-567-5357 or miriam.carter@montgomerycollege.edu.

    I’m sure you already know about this; heck, you’re probably one of the panelists! But I saw it and instantly thought of you, so I wanted to make sure you knew about it just in case.

    Please feel free to delete this comment.

  6. Kami says:

    I’m with you on this one, awesome challenge!

  7. NoRegrets says:

    I have a friend, the door guy, who is severely depressed. He told me he hadn’t eaten for 3 days. I kept telling him to get help, and finally his sister contacted his doctor which is good and he’s going to therapy daily. But I gave him a flower so he knows someone cares. And ask him repeatedly each day what he’s eaten so he will eat.

  8. Kristin says:

    My brother sent me a link to a Post about Operation Nice. I thought you’d get a kick out of it.

  9. Hi there Susan, I just stopped by to tell you I’m sorry about the hard times you’ve been going through and I’m happy to see you feel much better. You are a brave woman and an inspiration to so many, thank you for telling the truth. Big Hugs Jen xx

  10. I just wanted to thank you for putting my Aunt Mary Ann in the Spotlight. That means so very much to me, as well as to her.

    I am trying to talk her into checking out you blog as well as Mothers With Cancer…but she is a little “afraid” of computers.

  11. Becki says:

    I went to cheer on people who were walking in the Breast Cancer 3-Day here in Michigan. You may hear from some unreliable sources that I was wearing (over my t-shirt) a fuchsia brassiere with pink sequined smiley faces hot glue-gunned to the cups, but nobody can prove it.

    I also helped decorate the tent of my friends who were walking in the 3-Day, and they won the tent decorating contest! I hope that lifted their spirits because they are awesome and deserve it.

  12. riddlej says:

    I just stumbled across your blog today. My mother had inflammatory breast cancer fifteen years ago when it was practically unheard of. She went into a deep depression when she found out the survival rate was around 1%. Thanks to some experimental medicine, however, she went into remission for ten years. Now her regimen is almost standard fare for IBC. I am so thankful for the increasing notice of IBC which is so different from “regular” breast cancer. Thank you for this blog which will give more attention to it.

  13. Heather says:

    My MIL is coming up on her 20th year as a breast cancer survivor. It’s people like her and you that inspire me. I may not be fighting cancer, but if ladies like her and you can fight it, I feel like I can do anything too!

  14. De Anna says:

    watching Oprah today and thinking of you. Talking about you and reposting your “you don’t have to have a lump to have breast cancer”.

    Wishing you well!

