the love overflows

My heart is so full this morning I just want to shout it from the rooftops.

I love my kids.

I love them more than life itself.

(I know that for sure. I did chemo.)

And today, just another crisp fall morning in October, is a day I thought I’d never get to spend with them. But I did. I am. I am here.

Cancer takes so much from us, but it leaves one thing behind:

Gratitude for good friends who circle around us, protecting us and supporting us, for family who does the dirty work left behind, and for little children, who bring joy to every morning.

Brothers, jumping on the bed, this morning.

Little Bear is squealing in delight at the light above him. Or maybe just life itself. I learn so much from these boys….

14 Responses to the love overflows

  1. Amy says:

    Did you see the Oprah with Christina Applegate? What did you think? She had cancer in one breast, and the “breast cancer gene,” so she decided to have a double mastectomy. Her story reminded me of yours. There were a lot of survivors in the audience, too. I found it very moving.

    Then they talked to Susan Komen’s sister, who has raised over one BILLION dollars for BC research. I watched it last night while folding laundry (yay for DVR) and thought of you.

    I’d love to hear what you thought of the show, if you saw it.

    Hugs,
    Amy @ prettybabies

  2. I love that photo! And I hope that right after you took it…that you set the camera on the bedside table and got into bed to jump with them!

  3. Spacemom says:

    Awesome! Kids are full of unconditional love, and that is great!

  4. Susie says:

    What a nice reminder of what it is all about – thank you:)

  5. Lori says:

    Perspective is the greatest gift. I wish there were easier ways to receive it though! Give those boys ridiculously slimey smooches…in front of their friends!!! 🙂

  6. Randi says:

    I didn’t know if you new about boobiethon – an effort to raise money for the Susan Komen foundation. It’s going on from now until the 7th of October – you can see the site at http://www.boobiethon.com

  7. Kami says:

    This post makes me smile, awesome photo also!

  8. debi says:

    You make my day.

  9. What a beautiful picture of the boys.

    It’s been three years since I was diagnosed with cancer… this week. Two more to go, before I can breathe again.

  10. Bubba's Sis says:

    Life is good. Enjoy every moment – and may you have lots and lots of moments to enjoy!

  11. Ally says:

    Wow, what a great photo of the boys– it captures the essence of joy!

  12. Oh my yes!!! “for little children, who bring joy to every morning”

  13. deb says:

    Your boys made me smile this morning, thank you.

  14. […] in giggles on the family room floor after a tickle bout with my kids, the preschooler in fits of giggles and the toddler babbling happily, […]

