Cancer to 5k … my way

As you may remember, near the end of chemo last year, my legs stopped working.  I couldn’t walk at all because of the bone pain.  When that subsided, I was still very weak.  When I finished chemo, I had to go to surgery.   When I recovered from surgery, it was time for 7 weeks of radiation.  Recovery from that took time, and then I was hit with the large ovarian cysts and pain, and then surgery again.  What a year, huh?

But I’m done with that now.  It’s over. I’ve been to my oncologist (for my regular 3 month checkup: clean!) and she has cleared me for exercise.  Any exercise.  Every exercise.  And she says that if I don’t start soon, I’m facing serious bone loss because of the tamoxifen that I have to take every morning.  So I’m taking my calcium, lacing on my running shoes, and getting down to business.

I started walking last week.  First a mile.  Then two.  Then, by Sunday, 4 miles with my friends.

I bought a wii fit.  This is an AMAZING help, as it records and charts all kinds of things for me — my weight, BMI, and balance results; the minutes I spend doing yoga, strength exercise, aerobic exercise like step or running in place, and the hilarious balance exercises that it offers as well.  (And how else would I get my morning hula hoop or snowboarding time?)

I’ve been working at it every day.  This is day 5.  I know, it’s a tiny bit.  Not even worth mentioning.  But to me, it’s everything.  It’s a way for me to FIGHT BACK against this beast and all that it’s taken from me.  A way to strengthen my body so that it can fight off the next attack.  A way for me to feel better, more in control, and more energized for those long days with two active preschoolers.

Oh, the preschoolers.

We’re having ever so much fun these days, taking walks, playing tennis, scampering around on the playground.  I haven’t been writing, because I’ve been playing and working out.  It’s going to get harder and harder to get out and run, I know, both because my demands will increase and the weather will chill, but for now … TODAY … I am active, and getting more fit, and fighting back.

I didn’t hear back from the Cancer to 5k trainers … but I’m determined to do it anyway.  I have a 5k picked out, and I’m working my way towards it.  Anyone else walking/running this Fall?  I’d love some tips!

Edited to add: Laurie is running too.  She just did a 5k with her kid!  Whoo-hoo!

13 Responses to Cancer to 5k … my way

  1. Saturday I ran my first 5K for an organization that supports families who have children with similar disabilities as my daughter. I wrote about the race, and a few days ago, I wrote some running tips.

    Day 5! Day five is huge. Day six will be bigger. Wait until you get to day 10 or 12 or 50… I’m pulling for you. For your “fight back.”

    (I downloaded a 5K training program at runningplanet.com.)

  2. Lori says:

    Have you always loved exercise or is this one of those absence-makes-the-heart-grow-fonder things? Either way, go get em! I’m so proud of you for taking on a 5k. That’s a great goal to work toward.

  3. m says:

    Great news! We are having fun with the Wii fit at our house. Have you played the bubble/river balance game yet? Not the most strenuous of activities…but it sure is satisfying when you make it safely to the end.

    Enjoy all this healthful and light-hearted movement! As always, you are an inspiration.

  4. mandi says:

    good for you! 5 days is great, definately not nothing. I can’t even get started on one it seems!
    keep it up hon, you can do it

  5. 5 days is awesome…I am afraid to get om wii fit b/c I know its going to get snarky with me over how long its been since I worked out. I am thinking I might start running again, too…but not quite sure how to fit it in to my schedule. And it clearly takes a back seat to…um…almost everything else. 🙂

  6. Tina says:

    I walked in TWO Avon walks for Breast Cancer this morning and last weekend I ran in the Sacramento Cowtown Half Marathon and broke my record by almost 14 minutes in honor and memory of my Uncle James who fought SO hard, going to chemo on his lunch hour and smiling through all the pain.

    This was an emotional, crazy hard year, but oh what it looks like on the other side of the tunnel. Light and future and blessings abound.

  7. Tina says:

    Ahh I’m so proud of you… I forgot to put that in my last post. You have taken your life to the next level. You have to take care of you so you can continue to be healthy for your family. I love the Wii Fit (I wish I could steal it from my sista) and I’m sure you do too. Great job on the walking too.

  8. NoRegrets says:

    Exercise is soooo important. Keep at it! I’d say, btw, that running is one thing you can do in almost any weather (except ice), so don’t be a wuss. 😉

  9. Susie says:

    You are inspiring me to think more about exercising. I said “think”…

  10. Laurie says:

    So glad you are doing this! Exercise is good for the body and great for the soul!! Let’s keep each other going, OK?

  11. whymommy says:

    Oh, wow — this really helps!

    And yeah, I’m totally on board! Day 6 was this morning — 3.3 miles (walking) with friends.

  12. clifford says:

    Don’t even try to tell me you don’t fire up Wii Boxing when nobody’s around. I seem to remember a decent straight right hand… Admit it!

  13. whymommy says:

    Clifford,

    Not yet … but maybe! It’s a little (pedagogically) hard to fire up the boxing when I’m teaching my kids to be pacifists….
    🙂

