This is the good stuff

A morning of playing in the park, running around with friends, batting the tennis ball around with kid after kid after kid, and racing down the path, laughing like the preschoolers that we spend our days with.

Collapsing in giggles on the family room floor after a tickle bout with my kids, the preschooler in fits of giggles and the toddler babbling happily, “cud-dles.”

Singing silly Sandra Boynton songs in the car, ooh-ing and aah-ing at the changing leaves, each vista more beautiful than the last.  The excited squeals when we pass a construction site, and the happy declaration of my preschooler at the end of the day, “This is an amazing night.”  (Was it the 7 hours in the car?  Or the dinner at Wendy’s?  Oh, I feel like such a good mom after admitting all that.)

An evening out with friends, with no agenda beyond enjoying good wine and friendship.  An early morning spent walking and chatting with other friends, walking together towards better health.

Afternoons outside, having adventures in the tree house/rescue center/pirate ship, as the baby goes squealing down the slide — by himself.

Returning home, tired but happy, ever more confident that our family is a team, and that any day can be an adventure.

This, my friends, is the good stuff.

11 Responses to This is the good stuff

  1. HeatherK says:

    How did I not know Sandra Boynton made music!? Off to bookmark and remedy my ginormous error!

    Good stuff, indeed!

  2. De in D.C. says:

    You deserve the good stuff; every single day.

  3. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    OMG. I. love. Sandra Boyton. Any time J gets fussy in the car I turn on “Tantrum”. Heh. And it usually works.

  4. Tonja Leake says:

    I very new to your “sight.” I found it by accident. I love you and your words. You have driven my heart, to love my sons and my husband more, apologize more, and to dream more. You have the most beautiful heart I have encountered. The world needs to know you. I have never heard of your type of breast cancer. You amaze me. I will pray for you. I check on everyday by way of your website. I love you, stay beautiful inside and out, and all over.

    Tonja Leake

  5. Laurie says:

    Yes it is. Absolutely.🙂

  6. Susie says:

    Personal Penguin is a favorite around here – Logan loves to watch the video again and again! Yeah for Sandra Boynton and Davy Jones!

  7. Kelsi says:

    Hi! I just wanted to say that I am an Olin Fellow at Wash U and I read the article about you in our newsletter, and realized that I had just met you this year at the Women’s networking breakfast for LPSC. Ironically I heard about IBC only a few months ago, because one of my friends sent me the KOMO 4 newsclip about it. I thought it was amazing that I hadn’t heard of it until now, and I passed it on to everyone I know. So I really appreciate your efforts to inform people about IBC!!

    Good luck with everything, and I hope to meet you again in person in the future!

  8. abadmommy says:

    ahhh…i cant wait until my kid’s old enough for all this!!

  9. sounds wonderful-

    I love the good stuff🙂

  10. angelo says:

    hi! is there an email address where i might send info about having you as a featured blogger at peoplejam.com?
    thank you,
    angelo

