Fall delights

There is nothing so truly invigorating (to me) as taking little kids to a new place where they can run around and play.  Bonus points for beautiful scenery (for mom) and stuff to investigate (for all of us).  A place that never fails to disappoint is the farm.

Any farm.

We’ve taken the kids to produce farms in Illinois, Pennsylvania, New York, and Maryland, and never yet been disappointed.  The wagon ride, so relaxing for adults, is a thrill for the preschooler right up front behind the tractor.  Meeting farm animals is always exciting, and somehow it’s always a surprise when their kids (the baby goats) nuzzle my kids (the baby people).  Going out to see the fields is exciting for my children of suburbia, and we’re teaching them about where food comes from (veggies first, please!), so it’s amazing for them to realize that that big lumpy thing on the corn stalk is actual … corn.

Okay, now I sound like a nut case.

But I do love visiting the farm.  I love nearly everything about it, especially around fall harvest time, when they set up silly tableaus of nursery rhymes or fall themes, pumpkin head people, crafts for the kids, and food booths galore.  A weekend trip to the farm during harvest time might mean roasted corn on the cob (in Illinois), fresh donuts (New York), shoo fly pie (Pennsylvania), or fresh baked treats (Maryland).  There might be lunch waiting, or we might just have to make do with kettle korn and fresh apples.

The farm shop, filled to bursting with half-a-dozen varieties of apples, beckons before we leave.

And then, of course, we have to visit the play areas, full of tricycles and John Deere mini tractors, slopes to slide down, wooden trains, and whoknowswhat, such an adventure for the kids, just one more time.

The farm never fails to entice us, and my preschooler summed it up as I buckled him into the car after a long day at the farm: “Mom, can we come back tomorrow?”

There’s always something to investigate at the farm!

8 Responses to Fall delights

  1. Kathy U says:

    Wow, I wanna go!
    In my neck of the woods we visit the beach (Puget Sound, Hood Canal, Pacific Ocean) and the mountain (Rainier).

    Do you know Wendy Otto?

  2. whymommy says:

    No, I’m afraid I don’t. Should I?

  3. We are way into farms at my house. We go berry picking all summer and just braved the muddy pumpkin fields. Sounds like a fun time was had by all!

  4. KathyU says:

    No
    Wendy is a rocket scientist in your area and I figured that there can’t be that many women in your line of interest so maybe…

    BTW I admire your courage and upbeat attitude.

    Kathy in Washington State

  5. Lisa says:

    What a blast! I wanna go back tomorrow too! Missing you!

  6. Susie says:

    Going to the farm is a “must do” activity of fall. Growing up in New England, going to the orchard was a typical weekend activity.

  7. Tina says:

    I love the farm too. So do the kiddo’s. Although we are in California we live in a fairly rural, very agricultrually diverce area. Lots of farms, rice fields, orchards, pumpkin patches and apple orchards to visit and we never grow old of any of it. I love how the kids get to touch and feel their way through the farm. They learn with their ears, nose, hands, feet, eyes… its like a miracle is set free with each trip. A new lightbulb goes off in their brains and new and exciting questions always emerge.

  8. sprucehillfarm says:

    I think all kids love farms! Happy fall🙂

