What a difference a year makes

Today I’m waiting for results.  Results of my quarterly CT scan, which will show if the cancer is back or not.  (We’re praying for not.)  Waiting to see what the future holds, at least the near future.

Have you done your self-exam yet?  Everyone’s doing it, and our friend Ree, The Hotfessional, is running a special “Save the Boobies” event over on her blog.  Please check yourself today, and call a friend and remind her too.  Because the difference between having cancer and not having cancer is  … well, I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

October 2007

October 2007

October 2008

October 2008

Last year, just about the only time I left the house in October was for a fun costume party playdate with my moms group. WhyDaddy drove me to the party, took me to the door, and picked us up. Little Bear and I sat and watched most of the party, although he did work on taking his first steps!

This year, we’ve been adventuring downtown, in the burbs, to the outlets, to the beach, and far away (more on that later!). We even went to a conference together — here we are sitting attentively in a workshop!

I’ve done both, and, let me tell you, you have a lot more options without cancer.

So check yourself and call a friend. I’ll be here when you get back.

11 Responses to What a difference a year makes

  1. Julyman says:

    What nice pictures. Best of luck to you.

  2. Sarah S. says:

    You are right! You look great by the way!🙂

  3. Susan K says:

    Praying right along with you!

    What a double edged sword these quarterly exams must be. On the one hand, you would get much earlier notice than those of us fortunate enough never to have had cancer…. on the other hand, you get brand new reasons to worry – every quarter.

  4. Dawn says:

    You both have way more hair this year! *G* Seriously, you look beautiful, you truly do. I’m so glad!

  5. hotfessional says:

    Thanks for the link sweetie! Let’s get more $ to research…

    And I have to say – I’m so jealous of your hair!

  6. You look like a million bucks! What a glow.

  7. Lisa says:

    Check is all done! Thanks for all you’ve done in the last year for all of us! You look mahvelous dahling!

  8. Adam says:

    So, do you think you’ll keep letting the hair grow or keep it short?

  9. whymommy says:

    Who knows? It’s awfully fun to have hair that’s short with a little curl in it … which is funny, cause I haven’t had hair this short since I was Little Bear’s age! (Remember, Adam? I believe you used to pull my pigtails in kindergarten….)

  10. Ally says:

    I love the pictures. You look great. I hope you get your results soon and that everything is fabulous. Many hugs to you!

  11. Adam says:

    Perhaps, but I don’t remember any curl in the pig tails, no little flip-up at the end, or anything. Debbie’s gotten her hair cut short, not quite your short, but short as in way off the shoulder. It looks great. For her, part of the problem of long hair is the shear weight of hair constantly pulling on her scalp, like some little boy constantly tugging on it (sound familiar?). So I’m glad she’s found something that helps with the headache and looks so cute, too.

