Glory.

Glory.

We did it.

I walked my first 5k since high school today.

I walked with friends who kept me talking, and we finished the course.

It wasn’t about me as a cancer patient, or even a recovering cancer patient. It was just about friendship, and walking with friends and their families for a good cause. (I wasn’t up to pushing a stroller because of the back problem.)

It was awesome.

I’m going to try to push it up a notch this week. There’s a 1k race in Frederick, Maryland on Thursday. Thanksgiving morning. I’m going to try it — and give thanks every step of the way that I’m able to walk again, to run, to be active again, one year later.

4 Responses to Glory.

  1. Heather says:

    Congratulations!

  2. You rock! The Philly marathon was today and I couldn’t go, but I love races for that very reason. You always know there is some motivating factor.

    You’ve been inspiring to me these past few weeks in ways you’ll never know. thank you.

  3. michelle says:

    You are great. Many people doesn’t have the strength to start on a race but you are awesome. Keep it up.

  4. Sarah S. says:

    Good for you! That is a major big deal! Good luck on Thursday and we can all be very thankful this year that you (we) are here and well!🙂

