Looking to the future

Today, I have happy news.  Today, I submitted a proposal for some work to be done in 2009, 2010, and 2011.  Last year, it would have been unimaginable for me to plan that far ahead.  Last year at this time, I couldn’t even walk — and it was a leap of faith for me to buy a 2008 calendar.  But today, I am healthy.  The cancer is not spreading.  It is not crippling my body or my spirit as it did some months ago (not that it should — but, I admit, I did struggle).  I have reached the holy grail of remission, and 6 months of clean scans.

Today, I am focused on the future.  On winning this proposal.  On submitting a paper to a referreed journal.  On running a 1k race on Thanksgiving Day.

I know that I am incredibly lucky.  I am.  I am thankful.  And I know just how lucky I am to be looking to the future without always seeing the face of cancer standing in my way.

Thanksgiving 2008 will be an incredible celebration for me.  I will give thanks.  I will also say a prayer for all my sisters at Mothers With Cancer, as I often do.  May they also get happy news this year, and thrive whether or not their cancer is gone.

New reviews are up at Review Planet — check out the link for reviews of books, toys, and stuff for moms and kids, including today’s post on some new books from Positive Spin Parenting.

11 Responses to Looking to the future

  1. Carla Danielson says:

    I was very heartened to read your post for today. Finally some good news since it seems like 2008 has been a very bad year for so many people.

    I am 39 fighting breast cancer too. I also have 3 1/2 and 1 1/2 year old daughters and am gooing through a divorce with a very ugly man. My daughters and I cannot count on him at all for support.

    It is awesome to read your blog today. It is the best news that I have heard in a very long time and I appreciate the hope that it gives me.

    You go girl!

  2. Awesome! The thing is, I got to know you here and Lisa through her blog, but I’d much rather pick your brains on business/non-profit/proposal issues than talk cancer. Yet I won’t ever forget that when cancer takes over for a time, you do have to shift gears, shift focus and be ready to shift back when things change.

    You rock! So happy for you. You are incredibly smart and I am rooting for you and your proposals with the same vigor that I was rooting for clean scans and good news on the cancer front.

    Much to be thankful for this year.

  3. Linda Lawrence says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Great to read such good news.
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Amanda says:

    Because of you, I give thanks. I do it for you and for others, and for myself. Awareness of gratitude and the presence of women like you in my life gives me so very much for which to say a reverent, “Thanks.”

  5. Ally says:

    Wow, I remember the post last year when you bought a 2008 calendar. That was huge. And this, this is huge, too. I am so happy for you, and I’m looking forward to hear about the fulfillment of those proposals… next year, the next year, and the next year…

  6. Tony says:

    Today I found your site while doing some IBC research. My close friend and neighbor has been diagnosed this week, and the journey through this has just begun. I will be bookmarking your blog now I believe. My wife and all of her friends have really stepped up to the plate, and I am sure it will continue without a stride missed. I hope you are doing well, and if there is any advice you could pass along to me, it would be wonderful. We all are very new to this type of cancer. We have all been doing our research, cooking dinner for her family, taking and picking up her daughter, etc.(this was just today) Her support is incredible, and luckily we have a great hospital at Duke within an hours drive. She begins her first treatments, MRI, catscan, etc. this week, so please pray for her. Take care of yourself, and good luck with your 1K!
    Thank you.
    Tony from Raleigh, NC.

  7. magpie says:

    Happy thanksgiving, and lots of luck with your proposal!

  8. Sarah S. says:

    It is a happy Thanksgiving indead! Enjoy your weekend!

  9. I’m glad that you are making plans…

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  10. whymommy says:

    Wow. I think I’m going to cry.

    I’ll let you know how it goes.

    And Tony & Carla, good luck to you. I’ll follow up with you by email tomorrow if I can.

