Walking into the Mariott

It was just over four years ago that I began this crazy dance we call balance. I had given birth to my young son just six weeks earlier, and I had a proposal review to run. I packed up my bag, added diapers, onesies, and a soft blanket, and headed off to the conference hotel, that cold November morning. I have a picture of us that morning, me slightly tired, him small and red, and both of us blissfully happy. We were back to work, we two, and we were going to make it through together.

As I closed the car door, clicking the locks, and began to stride toward that same conference hotel this morning, I was struck by the symmetry of it all, and how much I’ve changed since those days when I was so freshfaced, so eager, so optimistic that it would all work out.

For one, I had to leave my job when it became clear that I would no longer be allowed flexibility in time or place to do my work. For another, I got cancer. And for a third, I now work for myself when I want, how I want, and I have an opportunity – although no guarantee – to create a life that includes both science and children, without apology, without fear, and without having to sacrifice my time with my children on the way.

I am very lucky.

And so, as I walked into the conference hotel, I grabbed the door handle, straightened my jacket, and smiled.

I’m back, baby.

14 Responses to Walking into the Mariott

  1. Lisa says:

    Way to GO!!!!!!

  2. magpie says:

    You rock – you so totally rock.

  3. Lynn says:

    You are inspiring for women and mothers everywhere!

    (I’m a friend of Sue’s – I met you at the belly dance party)

  4. bean-mom says:

    Amazing.

    You truly are an inspiration. So glad to know that things are going well for you.

  5. Binky says:

    So many reasons to walk proud!

  6. Kimberly says:

    Love this post. You go girl!! xo

  7. NYFriend says:

    I have goose bumps! 🙂

  8. Susan K says:

    It was great to see you! Sorry we didn’t have time to chat ( you should have Web-ex’d in, then we could have had private chats during all that blather you didn’t care about!).

  9. You are back!
    You never left… just temporarily detoured🙂

    xo

    Mom Power

  10. whymommy says:

    Oh, Susan, what a fun idea! It was really neat to see it all again from the other side….

    We’re gonna make this work out. And you wouldn’t believe what my kid said to me last night! (Will post asap)

  11. Jennifer says:

    Wooo hooooo! You show them how it’s done

  12. Amelie says:

    You go, Whymommy!

