Six word memoir

Stella challenged us to write a six word memoir — or a series of memoirs for the New Year. I responded on Mothers With Cancer earlier in the week, but I think maybe I was too negative. See what you think.

2008 six word memoir (written in July and posted as twitter bio):

Scientist. Stay-at-home mom. Survivor.

2009 six word memoir (written for MWC):

Mother with cancer, trying to forget.

2009 six word memoir, if I were to write it today:

Mother of boys. Come play trains!

I think I like the last one best.

In 2009, I am going to remember (or try to remember) to enjoy every moment. And to remember that none of us know how long we have here. And wouldn’t it just suck if I spent the whole year cleaning and trying to be the perfect housewife (yes, I shuddered too, but I spend so much time on the #$%@$#$ laundry and picking up, clearly it’s a motivator), when really all I needed to be was Mommy?

Gotta go. We’re going to set up a new train track after lunch.

6 Responses to Six word memoir

  1. Amelie says:

    Your train memoir is wonderful. Have a wonderful 2009 with your family.

  2. Amanda says:

    Was thinking I might change the, “When I am old I shall wear purple” to, “When I am old, I shall not vacuum thrice daily. Something to aspire to, know?

    Choo choo!

  3. Becky says:

    Loved Life. Brought Happiness. Lived Well.

  4. mammaloves says:

    Girl finds happiness through her boys. (that’s mine)

    Have fun with the trains!!!

  5. clifford says:

    Hey woman…just checkin’ in on you. Hope all is peachy.

  6. I don’t find your first 2009 memoir too depressing, it’s just honest. But I do love your train one.

    I find it hard to sum myself up in 6 words that make sense as a sentence. I need a different one for each of my different lives: the writer, the mom, the wife, the sister…

    Maybe it should just be “Doing everything, being everyone, every day.”

