Little Bear … almost two!

Little Bear is a joy and a delight.  At almost two, he is a curious, happy, fun little guy whose happy ways bring joy to all of us who know him — and even strangers we pass by in the store.  His wispy blond hair frames bright eyes and a babbling mouth, always talking, about batteries or trucks or dogGIES!

He loves dogs with all his heart.  If only our dog loved him back.

He loves trucks, and when we pass one with flashing lights, you’d think he saw Santa himself.  LIGHTS!  he cries, and wriggles with delight in his 5-point harness’d car seat.

Christmas lights were almost more than he could bear.  LIGHTS! LIGHTS! he squealed as we drove through neighborhood after neighborhood, just to hear his cries of joy.

Batteries are a source of fascination for him, because they give his flashlights and remote controlled cars and trains POWER.  He loves to see things light up or go when we put fresh batteries in them, and he is always the first to alert us when their charge is low.

He is into pretend play already, making food with utensils at his play kitchen, trolling trains around the track, putting things in and taking things out of drawers, and telling us (parts of) the stories.

He talks, and has said three sentences already (“I did it!” in October, when playing with the play-doh ice cream shop, and “I want my Mommy” just last week, when the family waited in the car while I ran in to pick up a pair of PJs that were “not too soft” for Widget.  Break my heart!), labeling things as he goes, and calling for “codrs” frequently, to ask to play with colors, to cover up while we’re putting him down for nap, or just when he crawls into my lap for a cuddle.  “Cuddles!” he demands, and, oh my, does he get them.

He helps with laundry, recycling, sweeping and other chores, and he clears his place at the table after meals.  He rides the vacuum while I clean.

His only struggle now is with sleeping — and sucking his arm — but interrupted nights are a small price to pay for all the joy he brings.

And he does bring joy where ever he goes.

Little Bear, you are the delight of my life, and I am so happy to be your mommy.

12 Responses to Little Bear … almost two!

  1. Linda Lawrence says:

    Little Bear obviously “lights” up your life. What a joy! Celebrate! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. donna4k says:

    The little day to day joys are true treasures to cherish. He is a beatiful boy, but you know that already…give him a cuddle for me.. my youngest is turning five, and I was informed that kisses/lovies are only for bedtime… I miss those sweaty little kisses already.

  3. Stimey says:

    I have a dog that could give him some love.

  4. hotfessional says:

    Sounds like an engineer in training to me. 😉

  5. Robin says:

    What a beautiful post, a real reminder of what it’s all about.

    Give your little engineer-to-be an extra snuggle from me today🙂.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Happy pre-birthday Little Bear! I love how you tie your wonderful family together with your sweetness!

  7. Krista says:

    So sweet! My son is just almost 2 as well so I can totally imagine this!

  8. Amanda says:

    They certainly do unlock magic, don’t they?

    Is there a way to contact you? I am hoping to talk with you about something…
    amanda at designtramp dot com

    Thank you!

  9. Bon says:

    happy birthday to your boy, your beautiful boy.

  10. mo-wo says:

    Happy Birthday Little Bear. What a lovely little boy precious part of his lovely mama.

    Have fun!

    ps.. the helping report was a useful sample for my own 2 1/2 year old little guy

  11. Happy Birthday to your little one!
    Boys are great!

