Running

“Are you late or cold?” the deliveryman asked as he caught up to me in the lobby.

“Hmmm?” I asked, preoccupied with the physical therapy visit to come … what would she think of my progress?

“Late or cold? I saw you running and wondered….” he trailed off.

“Oh!” Relieved, I flashed him a smile and answered honestly. “Neither, actually, just running for joy.”

“What?” Now it was his turn to be confused.

“Well,” I continued, as we stepped into the elevator together and began the long ride to the top, “I was very sick last year, and now I’m not, and I was just running because I was so glad that I could.”

“Wow,” he replied. “That sounds like a great idea.”

The doors opened and we wished each other a good day.

7 Responses to Running

  1. Kristin says:

    Beautiful. Just beautiful.

  2. Lisa says:

    Way to go!!
    How’s the newly 2?
    Love,
    MLML

  3. poppingbubbles says:

    I usually just lurk around your blog, but this was a great post. We should all remember to run “just because we can” once in a while!

    Have a great Friday!

  4. Susan K says:

    Ahhh if only it would warm up and rain – then you could jump in puddles – because you can!

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    Cause for celebration! Today is my one year diagnosis date! Just wanted you to know.

    Thanks so much for helping me so much through all of it! My life is better because I met you!🙂

  6. whymommy says:

    Whoo-hoo! And CONGRATS to Sarah! Am so proud of you….

  7. Amanda says:

    Beautiful. I love to skip.

