Work-Life Balance

Work-life balance is elusive.

I have work.  I have life.  I have two little children who I love more than life itself.

Most of the time, my job is caring for them and mentoring them into smart, happy, successful little boys.

But after they go to bed, while they nap, on weekends, and federal holidays, I work.

It’s complicated, and it’s busy, and it’s more than a little messy, but I’ve come to realize I like it that way.

Even when the two demands happen all at once.  This week, I spent a couple days downtown in meetings, while Grandma and Grandpa played with the boys.  Then I came home, ate with them, cuddled with them, and read them Hardy Boys adventures until they fell asleep.

Some people may be able to keep their work life and their family life separate.  Good for them.  But, for me, it’s all mixed up together.

100_3765

Widget.  And Bear.  And Kepler, the dog, helping me get ready for my meetings downtown one morning.

(Oops.  Will try to rotate that pic after lunch.  Probably during naptime.)

3 Responses to Work-Life Balance

  1. Heather says:

    A dog named Kepler? Love it! I likewise find myself working at odd hours and in the in between parts of the day. I just wish I had the helpful grandparents nearby! The thing I love the most is that the work/life balance isn’t static. I’d be bored if it was!

  2. Lisa says:

    You look mahvelous dahling!! and you do it ALL well!
    Hope you had GREAT meetings!

  3. Susan K says:

    And some people turn dinner parties into work/interview/research opportunities! Looking forward to seeing you and your boys this coming weekend! Come early! We’ll be home by 12:30.

