Dear Jen Lemen

Dear Jen Lemen,

I just had to drop you a note today.  An email came to me from a friend of a friend, asking for help for a Rwandan mother of two who lives very near to us, but has very little.  She works 6 days a week to pay rent; she has no money for child care.  She has food stamps for food; she has no money for “luxuries” like soap and toothpaste.  Her children each have one pair of socks, which she washes every night for them in the sink.

My heart began to break.  And then I realized that I learned something from you, and I could do something about it.  I took my boys to the store and bought the family some of what they needed.  Toothpaste.  New toothbrushes.  Toilet paper.  And then some of what would help them dream.  Cutesy socks for the girl.  Matchbox cars for the boy.  Teensy flower bulbs and a vase for the mom, to give her hope for the spring.

It’s so little — so very little — but whatever I can give I will, and I wanted to thank you (and Odette) for raising my awareness of the situation in Rwanda.

– WhyMommy

6 Responses to Dear Jen Lemen

  1. kompostela says:

    You have great heart! I’m glad I subscribed your blog because I enjoy it so much:)))
    You have beautiful style of writing!

  2. Susan K says:

    Why mommy. What a wonderful opportunity – both the help a neighbour and to teach your boys – about compassion, and empathy, and generosity, and giving. It is so much more real, more tangible, than sitting at the computer and saying, and now, we’re going to buy Grandpa a llama for Christmas (though that is a valuable lesson too).

  3. Susan K says:

    Why mommy. What a wonderful opportunity – both the help a neighbour and to teach your boys – about compassion, and empathy, and generosity, and giving. It is so much more real, more tangible, than sitting at the computer and saying, and now, we’re going to buy Grandpa a llama for Christmas or an unknown child a gift for the Marines to give him for Christmas (though that is a valuable lesson too, in a different and probably less meaningful way).

  4. Bon says:

    thanks for posting the link to Jen’s so i can follow and learn too.

  5. NoRegrets says:

    Isn’t there a local agency that she can turn to also? darn… In Springfield there’s ECHO – no similar place? But I’m glad you did it.

  6. whymommy says:

    Noregrets, I’m sure there is, and we donate to agencies and stuff all the time (but never enough), but taking my boys shopping for tangible items for a boy just their age was a wonderful teaching moment, and remembering that unexpected blessings make a big difference, I felt good doing it too.

    Anyway, I only posted this because I was grateful to Jen for what she’s done.

