Today’s news in cancer research

I saw this on CNN.com this morning:  Scientists in Japan have identified a cancer-supressing enzyme that inhibits cancer growth in mice.  The good news?  It “prevents breast tumor growth and metastasis.”  The bad news?  The enzyme is found “in breast tissue.”

Cosmic justice.

Keep working, researchers!

Oh, and on yesterday’s post?  Yeah.  I had four positive lymph nodes after chemo.  Two were dried up and two were still full of cancer.  I explained it here.

6 Responses to Today’s news in cancer research

  1. sprucehillfarm says:

    Figures!🙂

  2. Susan K says:

    But does it have to be YOUR enzyme?? Maybe this isn’t as much of a D’OH as it appears…

  3. JessicaAPISS says:

    Adding prayers for the researchers to my litany.

    Thank you for yesterday’s post. I personally needed to ‘hear’ those blunt facts, rather than feeling overconfident and complacent for you, my friend. I will keep up the prayers and work however I can so that a cure can be found.

  4. whymommy says:

    Oh, I’m hoping that it has great potential. I admit I don’t know much about it, and am also aware that many women who have breast cancer do get to keep their breasts, or a good part of them at least. It just struck me as funny!

  5. whymommy says:

    Jessica,

    Yeah, me too. I just joined the ACS Cancer Action Network, and I’m going to be stepping it up a bit. Will report back how it all goes down….

  6. NYfriend says:

    I don’t always comment because often I just can’t find the words for what I want to say. Tonight I just wanted you to know I think about you all the time.

