PET/CT

Motherhood: having to retake part of the test again because you fell asleep.

Yes, even in the middle of a PET/CT scan, I fell asleep.  It wasn’t even all that comfortable, lying on a platform 5 feet off the ground, sliding slowly through a whirring tube … but somehow when we finished the test, I became conscious of being alone in the cold room, waiting for the technician to reappear.  When he did, he said we had to retake the last part of the test, because I had moved my head.

He tied my head down, one band around my forehead, and one band around my chin, and left the room to repeat the test, sending me through that machine again.

I was too confused at the time to tell him that he didn’t have to tie me down; I would just try harder not to fall asleep.

5 Responses to PET/CT

  1. Hey, a nap is a nap, even if they have to tie you down! Sorry the test took longer than expected though!

  2. Lisa says:

    You are a hoot! You know, sometimes those whirring noises get you that way! Thanks for always making me smile!

  3. April says:

    Just stopped by to see how you have been doing, I hope all of the test came back good.

  4. Hi Susan … I’m playing catch up on your blog, and what a good day to read …. am sending lots of prayers that you’ll have wonderful news and a negative Pet scan and that being tied down was so worth it!

    Hang in there!

    Tanya

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    Well at least it was relaxing? Naps are always good! Hope everything was all ok!🙂

