Three more

I don’t need ten today. Just three things to share with you, and to rejoice over. Oh, and a question.

1. CLEAN SCANS. My PET/CT and CT scans, top of my head to bottom of my thighs, came back CLEAN. No cancer. No cancer. NO CANCER anywhere!

2. The little boys are getting better, finally over this dreadful fever/vomiting/coughing thing that’s been going around.

3. I saw my new Lymphedema PT/OT today. She says that with daily therapy and wraps for the next 3 weeks, the swelling in my arm may return to normal! Hurrah!

Which brings us to the question. I have to get all dressed up fancy tomorrow for a NASA review. At the risk of sounding shallow, WHAT am I going to wear? The wrap (bandages, gauze, and foam) adds a good 5 inches to my arm and none of my winter clothes fit! Here’s a visual … ideas? What do grown-up women with full arm casts wear to the office?

Whymommy, wrapped

Whymommy, wrapped

34 Responses to Three more

  1. Kristin says:

    I’ve been struggling with clothes all winter. Completely different reason, but nothing fits. I find myself investing more good trousers in the right size and wearing shorter sleeved tops or dresses covered by wraps, pashminas or shawls.

    That’s the first thing that popped into my head, anyway. It might work a little better than fitted sleeves. I am sure you’ll look great, whatever you wear!

  2. I would say go with a pretty dress or top and wrap that sucker up with a pashmina or keep a shawl around you. May not be as fancy but at least it won’t look like you’re smuggling salami?

  3. AND YAAAAY NO CANCER!!!!

  4. De in D.C. says:

    Great news all around!!

    For clothing, try a short-sleeved blouse with a cardigan on top and you don’t have to thread your bandaged arm through the sweater. We did this with my son’s jackets when he was in a cast last winter.

  5. Kimberly says:

    Oooh, great minds think alike. Any kind of bright wrap would work, on top of neutral top and pants. Dressy earrings/necklace will draw eyes to your face. And so happy to hear cancer diagnosis!!

  6. I think a cape! Because you are Superwoman!

    Or, a dramatic necklace to draw the eyes up… as dramatic as you can get away with at NASA.

  7. Bon says:

    yay for the clear scans!

    and…yeh. um, dressed. i have been wearing jeans and this old LLBean shirt from 1995 all winter. i’m not sure i’m the person to ask.

    do you have any generous sweaters that have room for the wraps?

  8. Congratulations! And who cares what you wear! You look fabulous, fancy or not, and I know the review is going to be fabulous! (Although I do really like Sue’s idea of a super hero cape!)

  9. Lisa says:

    Hip Hip Hooray!
    Hip Hip Hooray!
    Hip Hip Hooray!
    I’d like to give some fashion advice, because I am so hip and all…….but all I can think to offer is a nice brown quilted jacket in size L. It has pretty big arms😉. Although I have to say the first thing I thought of in my closet that has roomy arms is my robe….hmmmm, don’t think that will work. I know you will look Beautiful!
    Hugs!

  10. Stimey says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!! I don’t have fashion advice. You know me, you know I don’t have fashion advice.🙂

    But, Congratulations!!!!!

    And look how beautiful you are. Just wear that joyous smile.

  11. oh yay! such excellent, excellent news.

  12. magpie says:

    I can’t tell you what to wear – but congrats on the clean scans!

  13. Karen Sopko says:

    Yeah on the clean scans, the best of days!
    may I suggest mock kimono sleeves, or take a sleeveless shell and tack on a beautiful scarf draped across the back, so that the ends hang down like handkerchief sleeves. Barring that wear a bright orange flight suit and tell everyone you are doing some field testing.

  14. Erika Jurney says:

    WONDERFUL news about NO CANCER! That’s just fantastic — and I’m happy you’ve found someone to help you with your arm. That additional hope must feel great🙂

  15. kami says:

    So HAPPY…YAY!

  16. jmkatz says:

    No clue about what to wear, I’m terrible about things like that, but….such great news about the scans!

  17. Pick me Pick me Pick me!!!!

    Been wearing a sling. I have been wearing a short sleeve top with a wrap. Like Moosh suggested.

    You will look fabulous. And you are NOT SHALLOW.

    And for number one? W00T! Makes me wanna dance.

  18. Amelie says:

    Yay!! That’s wonderful news.
    If you had something with wide sleeves, like a tunic, that might also work — perhaps with a scarf to make it fancy?

  19. nicoleb says:

    I say show yourself off…you’ve earned it.

    Maybe try a sleeveless dress with a wrap.

    Whatever you decided…you are going to look fantastic.

  20. Mama Maven says:

    So glad to hear about the clean scans, yippee! I think the short sleeved dress thing with a wrap of some kind is a good solution.

  21. deb says:

    Congratulations on the clean scans. Something in a deep blue would like nice against your skin, a tunic with loose flowing sleeves?

  22. laurak says:

    (1) No cancer means you can show up naked if you want.😀

    (2) But assuming you don’t want to, and that it’s colder there than it is here, what about…

    Oh, geez. I just did a search for cocktail dresses with kimono sleeves. Apparently, none of them are designed for grown-up ladies. Yipes.

    These are nice, though:

    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=343373&
    CategoryID=22120

    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=331912&CategoryID=22120

    Really great news about the scans. (((hug)))

  23. Michele says:

    They wear wraps. Its like a poncho, only cut up the center. Sort of like a big scarf that falls over your shoulders and covers your arms. They are great because they look classy and modern and allows full range of motion of your arms if you need them. Good luck!

  24. Robin says:

    I’m sooo very very happy for you!!

    Re: clothes – no idea. I wear mostly one -three colors because they all match together (think Garanimals!)

  25. (congrats)

    Re your question – a nice silk scarf. Not that it hides the wrappings, but it distracts from them. And really, you can get a nice scarf at a second hand shop for less than 10 bucks. Totally worth it.

  26. JessicaAPISS says:

    Hey gorgeous – This is wonderful news! I know I’m a larger dress size, but I do have some pretty kimono sleeve tops if you’d like to wear. They won’t hide the dressings but the larger bell sleeves in the forearms should give you lots of room! Call me, happy to provide tonight!

  27. carosgram says:

    Yeah! Clean scans!

  28. Sara says:

    Oh what great news on the scans!!!! What a feeling that must be!!! Your beautiful smile says it all!! Praise God!!!!

    Love the new header here on your blog….just adorable..and so fitting!

    I’m sure whatever you wore to the NASA function you looked amazing!! Heck, who cares what you wear…You are CANCER FREE BABY!!!!!

    Great news on the OT & PT front!!
    Lastly….happy to hear that your little boys are feeling better🙂 Yes, there is so much of that going around…Yuck!

    *I painted glow-in-the dark moons and stars on the ceiling of the kids’ rooms. It was so easy…but I think you would laugh at my attempt of making the constellations🙂 Oh well, the kids just love it. They always ask us to turn on their bedroom lights extra early to “charge up” the moons and stars.

  29. ohgrammy says:

    I’ve been picturing you all day in a deep brown sweater wrap, over any top that works. . . . Not to hide — you don’t need to do that — but just to feel good!

  30. HOORAY for clean scans! I hope your review went well!!!

  31. Whymommy says:

    Thanks, all! I’m still downtown but will update blog tonight!

  32. Angela says:

    Wonderful news! I’m so happy to hear about the scans, and about the hope for the arm too. That would be great!

    I needed this good news as I just came over from Clusterfook’s blog. I’m at work on the public desk and just can’t cry right now. So I’m focusing on your good news.

    I can’t wait to see what you decided to wear. I bet you looked beautiful. Just seeing you smile is beautiful!

  33. elesha says:

    Hi there,
    Just wanted to sway I saw and article on Virginia henrick I think thats her name and shes a 17 year survivour Of Ibc and counting. Now I want to do this in another 15 years and see your name there….

  34. […] problem here wasn’t with my work. It wasn’t with my typing. It wasn’t even about feeling self conscious […]

