Twitter dressed me today

Last year, I tweeted my surgery. Sometimes, I’d tweet my chemo or check in just before radiation. Lots of times I’d twitter just for some company while I recovered from a harsh treatment.

But Monday? A new low in twithistory. Staring at this big giant wrapped arm of mine and a big meeting at NASA the next day, I tweeted and blogged my dilemma, saying,

FASHION EMERGENCY. Seriously … help me get dressed, please? http://tinyurl.com/awdcn2

Now, normally, I just torture my husband with last minute wardrobe changes, but I was so out of my depth here with this big arm that I thought I’d ask around. You guys came through in a big way! Here is the result: Tailored pants, simple top, big necklace, and a brown sweater wrap over it all. [The sweater was perfect until I hot flashed all the way through the meeting. Then I looked like this.]

wrap

Oh yeah. That necklace totally distracts the eye from the arm wrap!

19 Responses to Twitter dressed me today

  1. Heather says:

    Well done, Twitter!😉 You look great! Now for that behemoth of an arm wrap to do it’s thing–a few more weeks you said?

  2. Kimberly says:

    Well, did you have fun? Before the hot flashes took over, I mean. Hate those.

  3. nicoleb says:

    I think you look lovely.

  4. whymommy says:

    Kimberly,

    Yeah, it was awesome. I love to be out in the world, talking shop and making progress. And then? I love to come back home and snuggle with my babies.

    I am so lucky.

  5. Angela says:

    I think you look just fine. And the smile draws all the attention.🙂

  6. Sara says:

    Oh you look fabulous!!! You have such a beautiful face and smile…

    and yes, you are very lucky!!

  7. kami says:

    I think you looked pretty, and most importantly happy and healthy🙂

  8. Wait, what arm wrap? OH! I was looking at the lovely necklace and the happy smile!🙂 You look great, seriously. And happy.

  9. NoRegrets says:

    you know, the necklace DOES help. but it’s mostly your big smile.

  10. whymommy says:

    Aw, thanks, guys! I’ve got to wear this for 2 more weeks, so it so helps.

  11. sprucehillfarm says:

    I can see how it would be hard to dress with all the wrappings.

    I love your new banner and design!

  12. diva65 says:

    With a smile as beautiful and full of life as you have, who would even notice a little thing like that!

  13. Oh Whymommy, you are just so cute!

    And your blog is medicine for the soul. You make me laugh, you make me cry. This post made me smile right back at you. You’re just so cute. (I know that’s not what you were going for…but as an older, mom-type woman, that’s what I see, and it’s oh so good on you.)

  14. […] it is just stuff, no matter how necessary — just flies into our carts.) Now, I realize that the lymphedema wrap makes it obvious, but, really? I didn’t expect four strangers to stop me and ask what […]

  15. whymommy says:

    Thanks, all — you’re so sweet to say that! I had such a good time at the meeting; it was not a big deal at all. (Now, arriving 2 hours late on day 2 because i had to be wrapped, that was a big deal, but what was I to do?)

  16. […] then, a couple weeks ago my lymphedema flared up.  We thought that daily treatment and wraps would get it under control, but, as it turns out, I’m allergic to the wraps.  Every time we […]

  17. […] I’ve spent the last two days in meetings where I’ve seen an awful lot of old friends, new colleagues, and friends I just haven’t met yet.  (Yes, I am that corny.  Now. When I used to have a hard-ass job?  Not so much.)  Nearly everyone has asked about my arm.  My wrist.  That big wrap on my arm. […]

