First words

Is there anything better than hearing your preschooler read his first words?

Is there anything sweeter than hearing your toddler say, “Mama, come,” and hold out his hand for y0ou to take?

Is there any adventure more thrilling than fording a creek with your little boys on a sunny afternoon — tossing stones and picking up sticks along the way?

If there is, don’t tell me.

I’m having a perfect day

6 Responses to First words

  1. thordora says:

    My oldest is now reading, just plain reading without sounding it out, which I have spent all 5 years waiting for. It’s so wonderful!

    Sounds like a wonderful day.

  2. I love these days – the wonderfulness of what seems from the outside like ordinary. When they happen on these unexpected warm days it seems to make them all the more magical. Sometimes I find myself stopping and closing my eyes and praying, literally praying that I will never forget that moment. I’m tearing up just thinking about it.

  3. Cathy says:

    Amazing. I’ve had very similar days with my two boys. It is wonderful. Just awesome, really.

  4. jmkatz says:

    Definitely nothing better,sweeter or more thrilling- nothing.

  5. Petula says:

    That’s great!

