Cancer has taken too much already

Revisiting the cancer journey, just when I was beginning to leave it behind, was not one of my better ideas.  Look, if you’re curious, my life’s an open book.  Um, an open web page.

Here’s my timeline.

Now you know.  You can look up those posts, or any of the ones surrounding these issues, using two new tools over there on the right.  There’s a brand new category box over there, right above the drop down box for the monthly archives.  Read about whatever you like — chemotherapy, mastectomy, radiation — it’s all there, in emotionally gory detail.  I have nothing to hide.

Particularly not tonight, the night that I learned of another friend’s death, the death of yet another mother with cancer.  I didn’t know Manda well, and that’s my loss.  I know that.  I enjoyed her writing, and I offered her what little support I could.  I wish it could have been more. I wish, more than anything, that she could have benefited from a cure, and that her last efforts to find help at a hospital in Houston could have done the trick.

Instead, she’s gone.

A husband grieves, friends gather round, and a child … a three year old little boy … has lost his mommy.

Excuse me while my heart breaks for that little boy and all those who loved Amanda, a.k.a. Alabama Pink.

14 Responses to Cancer has taken too much already

  1. I am sorry to read of this loss. I am a cancer survivor – 15 years now. I was diagnosed with Stage 4 Malignant Melanoma just 8 months after my first child’s birth. I was devastated when my doctor gave me the news and told me I had a 50/50 chance of beating it. All I could think about was my precious son growing up without his mother.

    My heart goes out to Alabama Pink’s family – most especially to that sweet child.

    And now, I, too, must cry a few tears for all the mommies who’ve had to leave and for all those who yet will, until we find a cure for all the cancers.

  2. amanda says:

    Just back from Adrian’s blog. Thinking of so many today.

  3. Susan K says:

    Maybe not a ‘better idea’. But a valuable one. People haven’t seen these (heck, I hadn’t seen those earlier posts and I feel I’ve been reading you for a long time). We’ve heard over and over from readers that your posts are helpful, valuable, just what someone needs now, informative, knowledge. Like the reissue of a great book (or rerelease of a great movie, with bonus features and extra bits – we know the ending now! she beat it!).

    So as hard as it must have been to go and reread this stuff again, please know that someone will get value from this. Someone will be helped. Someone will be educated.

    Because you had a hard, but better idea.

    Thank you

  4. Kim says:

    Thanks for your support for AlabamaPink. I sent her to your site shortly upon diagnosis, and I know she found comfort here. Thank you for what you do.

    For those that didn’t know here, I just have to tell…

    Amanda was a brave warrior, a wonderful friend and a brilliant writer. My world is dimmer without her in it. Like many of you, she opened her life to others, shared her inner struggles and, though it, was able to find peace not only for her struggles, but for those of us who stood by helplessly, wanting to help.

    I hope you continue with your “open book” – you have helped more people than you may ever realize.

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    It makes me so mad knowing there is another child out there that has lost their Mom to cancer.

    Thanks for the new categories, I think I need to go back and catch up on posts I have not read.🙂

  6. jodifur says:

    It’s ok to be sad. You feel what you feel, you need not explain.

    I’m sorry for your loss.

  7. oh, I am so sorry for her family, especially her little boy.

    My mom last her battle with cancer yesterday as well. Although I’m an adult, I cannot get over the feeling that my ‘mommy’ is gone.

    life is cruel.

  8. Bon says:

    to your commenter above…a mother at any age is still a mother…and to lose a mother or a mommy one of the most profound losses we can know. i am so sorry. for you, and for Alabama Pink’s little boy, and for all that cancer takes.

  9. Kristin says:

    There isn’t a word harsh enough to express how awful it is that cancer touches so many lives without rhyme or reason or apology. That there’s a child will grow up without his mother and that she will never get the chance to know him as a man. I’m sorry that your decision to do something good, to share your story, means reliving some of the hardest parts of your life. You are doing so much good.

  10. When you list it all out like that, its a bit staggering how fast things happen. And then thinking of your kids’ milestones during that time too…well, you have been through a lot. I’ve just learned about Alabama Pink’s passing from Mothers With Cancer and am so saddened. Her husband’s blog especially got me. Like you, Susan, it seems that Amanda was an open book about her journey. As hard as it can be sometimes to share (and revisit), it is SUCH a gift to so many others. So thank you. And thanks to Amanda.

  11. […] On our own blogs recently, we’ve mourned the passing of our friend Manda, known around these parts as […]

  12. I follow your blog for quite a long time and should tell you that your posts are always valuable to readers.

  13. […] I beat cancer, right?  Surely I can go talk to one more person about it, and thank them for their support of legislation so that others don’t have to. […]

  14. Rochelle says:

    I do not like the idea of losing the game of life to an inflammatory breast cancer or any cancer for that reason. Yet sometimes, it is time that we move on. Even though I do not know Alabama Pink, I wish to send in my condolences especially to her family and her child.

