Who are you, little butterfly?

Can you identify her?

Yellow butterfly

We did, this morning.  It’s a fun thing to do together.  Here’s a great link to help: Butterfly guide.

Hungry to see more butterflies of early spring?  Check out this great butterfly show, or one near you!

3 Responses to Who are you, little butterfly?

  1. Stimey says:

    Have you seen the butterfly since the release? I’ve been wondering. I kind of don’t want to know.

  2. jaelithe says:

    Since my little butterfly expert is out of the house, I borrowed one of his books. It looks like a Papilio glaucus to me — a Tiger Swallowtail. And probably actually a boy.

    If your kids are into butterflies now, I’d recommend planting some parsley. Seriously. Plant a whole big bunch of curly parsley in your yard (lots, so you have some left over to eat). And then try to identify the enormous iridescent black and blue butterflies that show up😉 You won’t be disappointed.

  3. whymommy says:

    Stimey, if I told you that, what would I post about tomorrow? 🙂

    Jaelithe, spot on! Tiger swallowtail it is. But how did you know gender? We have fantastic butterfly bushes and forsythia in the spring, but I’ve never tried parsley … great idea, thanks!

    Did anyone else guess the butterfly?

