Mama, go space?

All week, Little Bear has been asking, “Mama, go space?”  If I ask him a follow up question, or don’t respond immediately (because, say, I’m already in the middle of a sentence), he follows up with, “Mama, Goddard?”

Cracks. me. up.

My two year old is asking to go to the Goddard Space Flight Center Visitor’s Center in Greenbelt, Maryland.  It’s a great little place, with lots to investigate for the older kids and a dress up area and space capsule for the younger kids.  We often go there with our playgroup, and have lunch in the rocket park afterwards.

Being able to go to so many museums, and get out of it what we need to for that day, is one of the wonderful things about living in D.C.  We are taking advantage of every minute of it.

Edited to add: You have GOT to go see Stimey’s post about the day.  She is freakin’ hilarious, and she recaps the day for all of us … and Commander Blue Bear.  The 6 moms and 8 kids (including Heather) had a fantabulous day, and the sky was just as blue as it appears in the pictures.  Truly, truly, these are the good days.

Jessica’s got a great line up of Earth Day activities today, if you’re local to the Washington, D.C. area … there’s also a special Sid the Science Kid on today, and lots of other things to do to celebrate the Earth.  What will we be doing?  Getting out into the garden again, preparing the soil, and planting our vegetables for the summer.  Mmmmm.  I’ve been looking forward to planting in the garden with both my children for more years than I’d like to say.  Oh, okay.  Forever.

6 Responses to Mama, go space?

  1. NYfriend says:

    Too cool. Little Bear’s question just so perfectly fits with you as his mom. 🙂

  2. whymommy says:

    NYfriend,

    Thanks! If you’re ever in the area, we’ll gladly take you guys out there! And to Dulles to see a real space shuttle, and to the Smithsonian, and to the park, and to our stream out back … we’re livin’ large with the preschool set over here these days!

  3. NoRegrets says:

    Did you know/read abo0ut the Elmonaut at the Air and Space Museum?

  4. turnitupmom says:

    I can’t wait to garden with my little one either…I love digging my fingers into the soil. I just posted a FREE t-shirt opportunity on my blog that’s connected with doing something for Mother Earth with your children. I think you’d love this!

  5. Rebecca U says:

    “lunch in the rocket park afterwards”

    yeah, I’m jealous (and so would be my son if I told him.) We do have a park close to the airport, though, and the planes go right over his head every few minutes, so that works ok for him.

    We have a few old rockets outside Moffet we can drive by (but not lunch by).

