Healing, part 4

I am out of pain.

To celebrate this milestone, I’m changing the tagline of this blog.  When I started this blog, a new toddler mom, it was “Laugh. Play. Build. Learn.”  Then when I got sick, I changed it to “Family life and fighting cancer.”  As I struggled through a difficult recovery and uncertain future, I said I was “Making it count.”  But now I can see past the recovery into a new life, and I’ll be blogging that too, as:

The joy of life after cancer.

Thank you for joining me on this journey.  Stick around … there will be a lot of joy!

Won’t you celebrate with me?

If you’re still sporting a “Team WhyMommy” badge on your blog, THANK YOU! but feel free to take it down to make room for new women needing support and love.  If you have room on your blog and in your heart for a replacement, I’d like to suggest the “Mothers With Cancer” badge that celebrates and supports the 20 mothers with cancer writing at MothersWithCancer.com.  The site is a completely volunteer effort, carries no ads, and is available for anyone newly diagnosed or struggling with recovery.  When a member of the blogosphere becomes sick, we rally and provide what support we can.  We want to be there for the next mom who needs us … so, if you have space, won’t you add this badge to your sidebar?

Mothers With Cancer… because some women still must fight.

16 Responses to Healing, part 4

  1. Kristin says:

    What a beautiful change to your site.

    • whymommy says:

      Thanks, Kristen! There’s so much to do and enjoy out there — and we’re not going to miss a minute of it while the kids aren’t in school full-time and the weather is nice. Look for more adventures around our hometown downtown, Washington, D.C., too!

  2. planetnomad says:

    You know, I was never officially a part of team why mommy, but I can’t remember why–I think we were in the middle of moving and I missed the boat. But I remember I had just found your blog and you blogged about the weird texture of your skin on your breast and I remember thinking “This isn’t good” and praying for you that night and checking back next day. So I’ve been with you on this whole journey, although since my own life has been in upheaval (including TWO international moves) so I didn’t always comment, etc. BUT I just wanted to say (in my own rambling way😉 how very happy I am to see your new tagline and how glad I am to continue to celebrate the joy of life with you!

    • whymommy says:

      PlanetNomad, I know you’ve been here for me — and I’ve always appreciated it! I’ve loved reading your site over the past couple years. When I was stuck in bed, staring at the same four walls, I loved to wander around foreign countries with you, seeing new vistas that I will never see. You described it all so well. Thanks for that, and thanks for the nice comment.

  3. I look forward to reading all about your joy!🙂

    (where can i find the html for the button?)

  4. BetteJo says:

    I have replaced my Team Whymommy badge with the new mothers with cancer badge. Whoever designed it created a lovely badge with wonderful colors and a message of hope! I am thrilled to have the reason – to celebrate with you. Happy days!

  5. Stimey says:

    I love reading that first sentence. It’s the best thing I’ve read in a long time.

  6. marty says:

    I think that’s a wonderful idea. I’m leaving my Team Whymommy button, but I’ll add the Mothers with Cancer button later today.

  7. Susan K says:

    I am so, so very glad that you have finally gotten rid of the pain. Bless that new therapist -who figured it out. Now you can REALLY enjoy those wonderful boys of yours.

  8. whitepebble says:

    Congratulations on the good news! I’ll put up a badge right away. That’s an excellent idea.

  9. NYFriend says:

    I am soo very verYY VERRYY happy for you that you are no longer in pain! Yahooo!!!!!

    What wonderful BREW stories you shared too, how wonderful you guys are. 🙂

  10. dphealthcareconsulting says:

    I quoted you in my Mother’s Day tribute – http://beingcancer.net/2009/05/18/mothers-day-cancer-medley/
    Dennis

  11. NoRegrets says:

    Good for you.

  12. Amelie says:

    I’m so very happy for you, Whymommy.

  13. hotmamamia says:

    I am in awe of your bravery…I am so glad to have found you from Kelley…celebrate this victory by putting your pennies away for that trip to Australia…

  14. Claudia says:

    🙂 I am celebrating your joy, even as I enter phase one of my own nightmare. It be nothing or everything, but you’ve given me a place to perch for a sip of inspiration.

