What’s next?

Well, now that I’m finally out of pain, enjoying the springtime (almost summer!) with my kids, and getting back to work (naps/nights/weekends), the big question is … what’s next?

The answer is, I’m not sure exactly.  I feel good, but oh, so tired.  We think it’s a side effect of the tamoxifen, which I have to take for 5 years (it’s an estrogen inhibitor, locking up any remaining estrogen so it doesn’t feed any stray cancer cells).  But it doesn’t matter, because I have to take it.  I’ve kind of slacked off on the iced tea lately; looks like I’m back to it.

And exercise.  Must start exercising again.  It’s important, to reduce risk of recurrence and restore energy, but I am so not motivated to do it.

6 Responses to What’s next?

  1. […] View post: What’s next? […]

  2. I just caught up with your last couple posts and I am beyond delighted that you are now free of pain. Hurray for ripping scar tissue!
    The Tamoxifen makes my mother tired too, so tired she wanted to stop taking it, but I think we’ve managed to convince her that it’s a bad idea.
    So, what is next? What are your dreams? Your wishes?

  3. Do it sweetie. Exercise? We all should do it. I am as weak as a kitten, but am determined to turn that around. Don’t forget to get your daily Vitamin D…15 minutes in the sunshine, together with a supplement..essential to keep Br Ca away…

  4. Meg says:

    WhyMommy:

    Sometimes, what’s next is just being in the moment! At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.

    I, too, have been oh-so-tired and blaming tamoxifen (1 year down, 4 more to go). I’m just tired all the time. I even had a bloodwork-up to see if there was something else going on–nada. Some of my docs seem to think it’s the regular life stress of raising 3 year old twins and working fulltime, but I just don’t buy it. I’ve thought about seeing an endocrinologist, just to check out the hormone side and see if I can get back some energy.

    And, well, there’s always the exercise thing. I so need to get back into a regular workout routine (and I know its especially important post-cancer to do so), but between kids and work and life and all, it just seems impossible.

    Anyway, please post if you find some answer to the “so tired” dilemma.

  5. clifford says:

    Dood. Iced tea slacking? And you call yourself a southerner…

  6. amanda says:

    I hesitate to say anything, but at least I can say this, “I believe you can.”

