Springtime joy

Lazy hours in the backyard hammock, and climbing up the strings like ropes on a pirate ship;
Batting balls around the tennis courts, with breaks of exploration in the woods to find the ones that soared;
Strawberry picking, and the shortcake that Mama makes afterwards;
(Very) minor league baseball, complete with soft pretzel, cheese fries, and good friends;
Sharing the backseat of a minivan, and giggling all the way;
Birthday parties, sandboxes, and even a pinata;
Clambering up the playset’s rock wall, carefully, so carefully;
Squirting Daddy with the tiny hose of an outdoor fire truck;
Paddling along on the scooter on the sidewalk, daydreaming;
Chalking the sidewalk with the neighbor kids;
Digging in the garden to find “baby wormies;”
Pretending that the backyard fort is … oh, so many, many things; and
Cuddling with Mama at bedtime, reading story after story as the sun goes down.

These are the things that my children may remember from this spring, oh, so different than the last.

4 Responses to Springtime joy

  1. carosgram says:

    I have been on a diet and it has been working. Unfortunately I find that when things are going well is when I tend to slack off and not devote the time and energy to be entirely successful. I don’t know why but maybe because I want to be thin without having to diet and I start hoping for that miracle. Oh, well. Thinking of you and wishing you the best

  2. upsidebackwards says:

    It sounds like paradise. Would you adopt me?

  3. Linda Lawrence says:

    Hurray! 🙂

