Galveston

Just one of the many reasons last year’s Hurricane Ike tore at my heart when it went through Galveston:  my childhood home.

Galveston

Can you believe how gorgeous this is? I remember vividly playing outside by those trees, riding my big wheel along the grassy tracks, that beautiful wrap-around porch and steps, the little bathroom under the stairs, the graceful front staircase that wrapped around the foyer, and my bedroom — the one in front on the left, with the great windows — with the lion in the plaster on the ceiling.  No, the grown-ups don’t remember that part, I’m sure, but I do.  He was a friendly lion, and I often thought I saw him start to stir as I fell asleep, clutching my teddy bear and my doll Christie, dreaming of another day playing with my friends.

I’ve been back a couple times, driven by the house, and showed it to my husband when we were down there for a conference a couple years ago.  It was a beautiful place to be three and four years old, and I have fond memories of my time there with my parents.

I hope my kids have half as good memories of their time here, in our suburban split-level, with treehouse, creek, and swings, as I did of my family’s time in that old Victorian.

9 Responses to Galveston

  1. Stimey says:

    Wow, that place is gorgeous. That’s kind of my dream home.

    My mom and stepdad spend a good amount of time in Galveston. I think they even own land there. They love it.

  2. Heather says:

    I love how their gallery shows how full of love and friendship and life a home can be. How neat for you to get to peak inside after all these years. What a lovely home!

  3. kgirl says:

    Oh my gosh, gorgeous.

  4. marty says:

    Making J-town that much more of an armpit.

    That is truly beautiful. I’m sorry you ever had to leave it!

  5. BetteJo says:

    No, that’s MY dream home! What a fantastical place to grow up!

  6. Johanne says:

    That place is gorgeous – not to mention serene.

  7. To us it is just a beautiful home, I would love to have the wonderful memories to go along with it.

    What a fabulous place to grow up.

  8. whymommy says:

    To be fair, I only lived there a couple years, but it was when I was Widget’s age, and it’s the first place I remember. Isn’t it cool that they made that website about their home? Historic and everything.

    I suspect it didn’t look quite that perfect when we moved in. But my parents know how to fix (and paint) everything.

  9. Lisse says:

    Beautiful! What a nice memory to have.

