Moving in

Am on treatment with IV antibiotics in hospital; feeling a little better, much happier now they’ve backed off the “oh, it’s a tumor” insistence. Honestly…. Just because I have HAD cancer doesn’t mean that an illness always IS cancer.

As it turns out, it’s probably the same flu that you and your kids have been fighting off. But my body isn’t as strong as it used to be, and it’s not fighting it off very well. My white blood cells are way down, I have very little energy to move about, and the fever is still at 103′ after six days. So I’ll be moving into the hospital for a few days for IV antibiotics and close monitoring.

I do have some good (and some scary) stories to tell, but forgive me if I’m not up to reliving them today.

Thanks for your sweet notes and expressions of concern. I debated whether or not to tell you … but I’ve always been honest with you, so why stop now?

29 Responses to Moving in

  1. marty says:

    Thank God. Enjoy the hospital food🙂

    • whymommy says:

      On the plus side, they make a pretty good tuna salad sandwich. (I remember from August’s oopherectomy.)

      On the down side, I can’t eat it for every meal.

  2. *m* says:

    Sure glad to see this update. Whew!

    Maybe you picked up whatever your kids had last week?

    Rest up and get the heck out of there!

  3. Thank God. Let me know if your family needs anything while you’re living it up in the hospital spa ;0. Meals, babysitting, anything. Feel better soon. Praying the Memorare for you multiple times per day.

    • whymommy says:

      Meals. Snort. Let’s just say that I’m cooking about as much for my family here as I do out there. Am not Superwoman. Huz cooks brilliantly; I support!

      Thanks, Colleen.

  4. Alice C says:

    Be brave – take time to get strong again.

  5. Heather says:

    I almost spit my soda at Marty’s comment. Yes, do that!😉 Hope the IV abx kick this nasty bug and that your strength returns soon.

  6. Stimey says:

    I am so happy to hear this. Wish they hadn’t scared the living daylights out of you before they came to this conclusion. Still sending you love and good wishes.

  7. Toby Ratcliffe says:

    Susan,
    I was so sorry to hear about your last week of fevers and doctors and nurses! I am thinking of you and hoping that you’ll be back home soon!
    Toby (from the Cancer Transitions Group)

  8. bubblewench says:

    Keeping you in my thoughts! Really hope you feel better soon.

  9. hf says:

    Hugs and prayers and hoping for a speedy recovery for you!

  10. Thinking of you and please let me know if there’s anything I can do for you or your family! Don’t hesitate to ask!

  11. Kami says:

    Have been thinking about you and praying hard all day. Hope everything is better soon, hang in there, this to shall pass🙂

  12. carosgram says:

    thinking of you and wishing you the best

  13. Man, I wish I’d have read this one first. My heart is beating a million miles an hour….

    You know, I don’t know what it’s like but I feel like it must be a little traumatic, when you are a person who has seen that other side, to go through something like this. I imagine you feel an innate fear that most of us don’t understand, even if only for a little while. I am so glad they have backed off that initial theory. I’m thinking about you, hon.

  14. upsidebackwards says:

    Thank goodness! But ‘flu can still be very serious, so fingers still firmly crossed and lots of good thoughts being sent your way. And to your husband and boys too – I bet they’ve been beside themselves.

  15. Missy Diggs says:

    I’ve been sitting here worrying about you so I’m glad to see that you’re probably “just” sick. You’re about six months ahead of me on the treatment schedule (my diagnosis was Oct 2007) so I like to keep my eye on how you’re doing!
    I was in the hospital with a skin infection at the end of January, and it took two weeks of IV antibiotics (and a whole lot of other yucky stuff) to clear it up.
    So, get as much sleep as you can (I found that sleeping late was a good way to manage hospital life) and get well soon!

  16. BetteJo says:

    I knew those bastards didn’t know what they were talking about. Sounds like they were more scared than you were – Thank God you were the smarter one. Rest! Absorb those antibiotics and get well.

  17. Was waiting for followup tweet that I must have missed – last thing I knew you were on your way to the ER & that did it for me and sleep for the night. So now I’m breathing again and it sounds like you are too; GOOD. You think you could get away with not telling us you were in the hospital? Au contraire, little missy!

    Lord I’m glad those folks at the hospital are there to take care of you cuz last week we were NOT happy with your medical group; Um um. This will be the perfect opportunity for you to get some rest – like they’re not going to have you up at 6AM to take blood and do vitals, oh sure.

    But hey you’re there anyhow so let’s put an end to the tumor suspicions one way or the other. Tell them you’re not leaving without answers. . . . of course you’re so cute they may want to keep you🙂

    • whymommy says:

      Thanks, Susan. What happened was that I finally got in the ER … where there was no signal. When nothing there worked, they admitted me. Internet soon followed. Am so glad it did.

  18. Kat says:

    It’s hard to believe that I’m happy you have the flu. Yep, the flu is okay. I’m so excited that the scare of a tumor is over. Praise God from whom all blessings flow. Be a good little girl and rest.

    Hugs!
    Kat

  19. Susie says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! Hopefully, you will get some much needed rest!

  20. Linda says:

    Hope you get TLC at the hospital and your fever comes down soon!!

    I’m sorry they scared the (bleep) out of you for nothing — what were they thinking?!!

  21. Sara says:

    Thank God you are OK!! I’m just catching up with your last posts…..Praying that you kick this bug soon and get out of the hospital. You need to be at home with your sweet boys🙂

    Hospitals are hard to sleep/rest at….Request a sign be put on your door that reads “Patient wanting to rest.”

    Drink your fluids.

  22. Sending prayers and good wishes for a speedy recovery. Relieved that the drs. seem to have reached a conclusion about the diagnosis/prognosis!! Your boys will be so happy when you get back home!

  23. nanakats says:

    Thank God it’s “just” the flu – nasty though it is.
    Thinking of you and wishing you well –
    Kathy

  24. Linda Lawrence says:

    Thinking of you and the family. Hope this stay in the hospital gives you some much needed rest. Thanks for keeping us informed.
    🙂 🙂

  25. whymommy says:

    Would respond to each of you individually now, but feel very hot and am shutting down. See you tomorrow.

