Home/Office

I’ve been working away in my new home office (ex-nursery) on Saturdays over the past couple months, getting a lot done on my grant.  I’ve had a paper accepted, another one submitted and in review, twenty-two interviews done, and over 80,000 words written since January 1.  It’s a cozy little room, with faux wood desk, faux wood filing cabinets, and real drive and ambition powering the place.  Everything’s here, now, from laptop to monitor to printer, and even a pair of guppies swimming in a little aquarium in the corner.

But do you know what I like the most about my home/office?  When the lightning flashes and thunder roars late at night, two little blond boys can toddle from their room next door, take my hand, and lead me back to their room for cuddles to help them go back to sleep.  Any. time. they need me.

G’night, y’all.  They need me.

9 Responses to Home/Office

  1. apimaine.com says:

    Thank you! That is very useful.

  2. acertar.net says:

    great post. You’ve hit the nail on the head. They did a great job on the directory, but distribution is (and always is) worrysome..

  3. whymommy says:

    Eh? Who turned off the spamblocker?

    Oh, well.

  4. carosgram says:

    You sound so good these days, just talking about life in general. I hope this means that cancer is not the focus of your life anymore. I also want to comment that I am impressed with how well your career seems to be going. You have jumped in with both feet and getting the recognition you deserve. Thinking of you and wishing you the best

  5. Bon says:

    congrats on the grants/papers/interviews…and 80,000 words! you make me keen to get moving academically again.

    next door to the littles, indeed.

  6. NYFriend says:

    Love how you are making it all work for you! Awesome!
    (glad to hear you are feeling better too.)

  7. diva65 says:

    So glad to hear you are feeling better and are home with those beautiful boys. My daughter is going to be 13 and will still occasionally find her way into my room when the storms are bad. I wouldn’t trade those moments for anything. Lauren

  8. Misty says:

    I am so happy for you!

