June 16, 2007

On June 16, 2007, I was diagnosed with Stage IIIC inflammatory breast cancer.

Today, two years later, it’s so far from my mind that I almost missed it.  (Thanks, Kim, for reminding me!)  Today is a day to celebrate.  We beat cancer.  I’m still alive.  I’m still enjoying each day with my kids, loving my husband, and making progress on my work.

It’s a day that, many times, I never thought would come.

But it’s here.  Let’s celebrate!

33 Responses to June 16, 2007

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! I hope you party tons! You definitely have earned it!!

  2. Heather Kennedy says:

    celebrating with you!! Hope today is one filled with all the people you love and the work and stuff of life that make each day a joy for you.

  3. nalene says:

    Good for you!🙂

  4. NoRegrets says:

    Yay!!! big cake with lots of ice cream

  5. wild family says:

    Woot – so happy for you!

  6. Stimey says:

    Can you believe it?! Congratulations! I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that you’re still here, and also that the anniversary is far from your mind.🙂

  7. kgirl says:

    Don’t know if congratulations is the right word or not. Yes, it is. Congratulations to the ultimate survivor.

  8. Amelie says:

    I’m so very happy for you. Have a wonderful day!

  9. JoC says:

    Wooohooooo!!

  10. marty says:

    Well alright. Before you know it we’ll be celebrating 5 years. Then 10.

  11. magpie says:

    If I had a glass of wine, I’d toast you. Congratulations, and many more years of clean scans.

  12. squawky says:

    Congrats! I’d join magpie in that glass of wine if we had some – or perhaps an ice cream would be more appropriate?

  13. Nickie says:

    Congratulations doesn’t even seem like a big enough word, but congrats anyway!!! I am so happy that you beat it and that you are doing so very good!

  14. upsidebackwards says:

    Many, many, many, many happy returns.

  15. Robin says:

    Adding my own heartfelt best wishes for many happy returns.

  16. Susan K says:

    Congrats Whymommy!! You dodged the bus. Can’t wait for the 5 year anniversary.

  17. Malaina says:

    I’m so happy for you! And so happy that it’s so far from you that you almost missed it.

  18. Congratulations. I wish you many more years of forgetting the anniversary.

  19. liz says:

    hoooray!

  20. Aunt Pat says:

    Way to go ! Wishing you many, many more !

    Love

  21. Christy says:

    Oh Susan! Congratulations!

  22. Karen Sopko says:

    Wow! Congratulations and many many more anniversaries. Whenever I need some perspective I just go to your blog, I am one year post cancer and counting.

  23. *m* says:

    Cheers!

  24. Bon says:

    i am so glad you’re here.

  25. hhb says:

    I’m so very happy for you!

  26. Kyla says:

    That is WONDERFUL!

  27. Linda says:

    Woo-hoo!!! I’m checking in for the first time since my trip (when I read you were going through your fever and hospital stay), and I am SO glad you’re doing so well! Enjoy!! Summer is such fun with little kids —

  28. Can’t say anything but, very very very Congratulations for you and family … Cheers🙂

  29. Rebecca U says:

    Grinning like a fool!

  30. Congratulations…happy happy day!🙂

  31. lindsay says:

    I’m so happy you’re here. I totally terrified wonderdaddy and widget in the grocery store and recognized them using only their internet names! Holy Stalker! It was great to meet your terrific supporter and partner in the flesh, complete with a NASA shirt.

