You are beautiful

I know that everyone around these parts of the blogosphere is all shredding, and EA-activing, and Wii-fitting, and getting HASAY in time for BlogHer, but I just have one thing to say, and I’d like you to hear me out.

You are beautiful, just the way you are.

You are.  You may not see it when you look in the mirror, but think how amazing and wonderful your body is, to work in just the right ways, at just the right times.  It may not be the size or shape that you’d want it to be, but I’m willing to bet that it works, and that is worth more a lot more than fitting into some swimsuit.

But if you’re still all worried about that swimsuit?  Come swimming with me at BlogHer Saturday or Sunday morning.  I’ll be there, in all my imperfection, but I’ll be enjoying that beautiful pool that overlooks the lake.

Why should I let an imperfect body stop me from enjoying my weekend?

20 Responses to You are beautiful

  1. Monica says:

    When I was growing up my mom would never swim with us. Instead she sat on the side of the pool talking about how fat she was and how she couldn’t be seen in a suit. Even if we were thousands of miles from home.

    It was sad and stuck with me. I refuse to miss out on my daughter’s childhood OR leave her body image issues.

    Everyone just needs to remember that NOBODY is happy with their body and get over themselves!

  2. Stimey says:

    You rock. Love this post. Wake me up when you get back from the pool, ‘kay?

  3. debi says:

    You are so special, I love you Susan.

  4. clergygirl says:

    And I just want to say you do look beautiful! I’m so jelous of your long locks! Wish my hair grew that fast! You will look fabulous at Blogher!

  5. upsidebackwards says:

    I’ve only seen the photos you occasionally post here, but Susan, I have to tell you, *you* are beautiful! You have an amazing body, which has fought incredible battles, and WON. And will carry on fighting. Bravo to you for celebrating that. I wish I could be there to swim with you – I’m sure you’ll have a crowd. I hope you have a wonderful time.

  6. kgirl says:

    Word. I won’t be at BlogHer, but I bought myself a bathing suit this year for the first time since I became pregnant with my first daughter, almost 5 years ago.
    My mantra this year – It is what it is.

    • whymommy says:

      Kgirl, I learned that mantra from Clusterfook, and I’ve caught myself saying that for the first time myself too. It is what it is.

      And there is so much more of consequence to think about!

  7. Kimberly says:

    YOU are beautiful, my dear. xo

  8. Tinagirl says:

    http://operationbeautiful.com/

    I thought you would enjoy (and posibly partake) in this little operation beautiful that Caitlin has started. You are beautiful, and you should enjoy yourself without worry.

  9. Sara says:

    I just ordered The Daring Book for Girls and The Dangerous Book for Boys…they sound fun. Thanks!

  10. a) LOVE that there’s a pool at the hotel. I was swimming this morning and wondering if I’d be able to swim there.
    b) Can’t wait to swim with you. Warning though, I’m a slow, slow poke.
    I’ll be there with my own imperfections, exacerbated by the cookies I’m about to eat.

    Thanks for the gentle reminder that our bodies are amazing and wonderfully perfect even despite any extra padding…

  11. Great idea! I’m staying offsite and will miss the early morning swim, but it’s a wonderful idea. You are still rockin’ it.

  12. Nicole says:

    What a great post, found it through Jessica on twitter cuz I just keep losing track of all the awesome blogs ’round here. I don’t think I’ve ever loved and hated my body more than this year, and I swear this brought a tear to my eye. Thanks. So sorry to miss you at Blogher, maybe next year.

  13. Love this post! I’ve always been a fan of The Body Shop’s mantra of “Know Your Mind, Love Your Body.” I don’t own a Wii Fit and dropped out of the Shred before my 30 days and am definitely looking forward to getting away from BlogHer craziness at the pool with you!

  14. jenB says:

    I would also say your body is perfect just as it is and I have not seen it.🙂 A pool you say….

  15. * TONYA * says:

    I’ll come swimming with you in all my imperfect glory .. okay, the glory will be covered by a swimsuit🙂. Meet you poolside🙂

  16. […] I go downtown and work with other scientists on a science review for NASA. On Thursday, I leave for BlogHer. I’ll spend three days in a blog wonderland, meeting many of my favorite authors and […]

  17. kelly says:

    I am going to find you when I am at Blogher, and I am going to give you the biggest hug for this awesome post.

