Splash!

We are an active family.  I suppose that’s an understatement, as the kids are nearly always bouncing around, racing each other down the hall, throwing balls (yes, in the house — why not, if you’re kidproofed?) … sitting still only long enough to make up intricate games and stories with their matchbox cars.  I’d forgotten just how active, though, until my friend R, over for a playdate this morning, looked over at me and said, “Are they always like this?”  and I realized that yes, they are.

We do have fun, though.  And we’ve never had more fun than this summer, living life to its fullest.  Just yesterday, we visited the Splash Park in South Germantown.  Oh, my, but we had a great time.  Little Bear ran right up to the circular fountain, stomped on a minature geyser, and ran back.  About a zillion times.  (And yes, that is a technical term.)  Widget ran in and out of the water features, chasing Stimey‘s Sam, and having all kinds of fun with kids he’d never met before.  (He does that.  A lot.)  We had a snack, scraped our knees, got bandaged up, and generally had great fun with Stimey and Colleen.  (Dude.  Do ALL my friends have blogs?  Oh, yes, they do.)

We had a great time, and we were talking about future plans to visit the Dairy MOOseum and mini golf there at the South Germantown soccerplex when Widget had an idea.

Mom, me want to go to the science museum.  I’m done playing.

Well, um, okay.

That’s my kid.  And I am so proud of him.

Of course, by that time we had well exceeded our time in the sun, and I had to get my fair-haired children inside before they burned to a crisp.  We made do with lunch at Chick-Fil-A (another playground!) and an episode of Sid the Science Kid after dinner.  But another day we will go back to the Dairy MOOseum, and mini golf, and the splash playground again.

Because childhood is short, and summer adventure time even shorter.

And I am LIVING this one — and making each day count.

Edited to add:  Speaking of Sid and science kids, I’ve got a Sid the Science Kid DVD set to give away this week … leave a comment here or over on Review Planet and you’ll be entered to win!

8 Responses to Splash!

  1. Stimey says:

    Great post. That Splash Park was so fun! And good for you for living in the moment!

  2. JessicaAPISS says:

    Dude, you EXHAUSTED me just reading that post.

    What a great summer you guys are having!

    BTW, me want to go to the science museum too.

  3. NYfriend says:

    So glad you are having so much fun! We are too – which is why I’m soooo behind on emailing you. 😉

    High-energy – it’s exhausting but I love it!

  4. upsidebackwards says:

    Childhood is short, but we are the lucky ones – we get to enjoy it again, with the benefit of knowing just how short it is. Youth isn’t really wasted on the young, because they share it with us. Not that we’re OLD, you understand…
    Your summer sounds like so much fun. I bet everyone slept well after the day at the Splash Park!

  5. Rebecca U says:

    Oooh, my son likes Sid and it doesn’t make me want to scream so the dvd would be so cool for us.

    It sounds like you had a great day. We haven’t braved a waterpark yet, my son knows just enough about swimming to think he can do it by himself (not quite yet), although I think from your description this is more of a water fountain/splash type place. We’re West Coast so our day trips include the beach or forest but I envy you the museums (and esp that your kids want to go!)

  6. Susan K says:

    How do I not know about Sid??? I obviously need that DVD! (or at least a pointer to where I can find out more)

    The other day my 3 year old announced that a shape on some Diego flash cards was a trapezoid. A bit surprised, I didn’t confirm at first. She said, ‘right, it is a trapezoid, right?” I found my voice and said, ‘yes, it is a trapezoid, how did you know that?’ She told me that she’d seen it on some Blue’s Clues video she’d watched DAYs before (I think for the first time). The next day, I asked her what a trapezoid is. She replied “it is a shape….. with four sides…. that aren’t the same… there is a medium one, and a short one….”.

    My three year old is smarter than I am!

  7. marty says:

    Is it really called the MOOseum? Because that would be awesome.

  8. We are headed to the Spray Park today! Unless it rains. (Then again, if it rains, we’ll get wet… at the Spray Park?!) Thanks for reminding me that was on our summer list! Running out of time… also going to try to hit the recycling center that Jessica wrote about to get our science fix. (Or mine anyway!)

