The President

Barack Obama is the president, and we should listen to what he has to say.

I’ll be watching his health care speech tomorrow night, and I’m picking up my kids early from preschool today so that we can watch his address to schoolchildren at noon.

I’m absolutely befuddled that this isn’t everyone’s response.  What happened to interest in information and critical inquiry?

You don’t have to agree with someone to want to hear what they have to say.

Right?  Isn’t that one of the things that our schools are teaching?

9 Responses to The President

  1. Suzanne says:

    I certainly hope my grandchildren had the opportunity to hear the President, but knowing the towns that they live in in Texas, I bet they didn’t. I haven’t had the heart to ask, because I will be so disappointed in this country and my state if they did not. I wonder how many people in Texas think that a pep rally for a football game is a “waste of classroom time?”

  2. Joan says:

    Agree that I do not see the issue here. My local district in PA did not show the speech at assemblies but left it up to individual teacher discretion — presumably dependent on how it would fit in with their own plans. I am OK with that as I figure kids and parents can see it together online anyhow.

    I definitely do not “get” those taking their kids out of school to avoid the speech — can only imagine they must feel rather silly after seeing the content.

    IMO this is a particularly inspiring president but I do not expect all to concur. Nevertheless, he is POTUS and his message IMO was unarguable. Whether watching would be the best use of class time may be dependent on the particular situation.

  3. Thank you!
    What are the people who are keeping their kids out of school teaching their kids? “If we didn’t vote for him, you don’t have to respect him?” What kind of lesson is that for kids? It’s democratie! Not opt-out-acie!
    Gahhh.
    Sorry. That had been building up all day… Feel better now. Thanks.

  4. I was mystified by this, too. What were people afraid that he was going to say that in one speech would wipe out a lifetime of parental teaching? I would think this was silly if it was a Republican president, too. It’s OK for kids to know that people have different ideas than our own families do.

  5. My kids are in high school with block scheduling. We cover an entire year’s worth of material in one semester. My whole issue with the speech is that our class time is extremely important – especially when you are trying to cover so much material in a very short time. I can watch Mr. President at home with my children – thankyouverymuch. I don’t need him to invade the classroom.
    The other issue that you all don’t seem to understand is that the original speech was full of propaganda about healthcare and more. Politics need to stay out of the classroom. He also had a homework assignment for the kids of America. Excuse me! We have plenty of homework to keep us busy. Physics, AP History, English Honors and more…
    Yes people have different ideas, but we need to be able to discuss that in a safe environment – trust me – school isn’t it.

  6. Lisa says:

    Thank you, Whymommy! I am one of the readers who came to your site through DCUM and have occasionally commented before that we seem to live in roughly the same neck of the woods (me, ten minutes from the butterflies)…I hope our paths and our children’s paths will cross someday in person, because I know I would really like you.🙂

