Quick poll

Happy Thanksgiving!  I have a quick question for you guys, lurkers and commenters alike.  Could you please leave me a comment and tell me what this is?  I’d really appreciate y’all even clicking through from Facebook or your reader to do this — I need a cross-section of folks telling me what they think this might be.

mysteryimageIt should only take a second — I just want a word or two, not a dissertation.

I’ll tell you why on Monday.  And thanks.  To all of you, for all that you’ve given to me over the years.  It’s been wonderful, and I give thanks for you every day.

61 Responses to Quick poll

  1. Jean says:

    Clearly it’s a space hourglass.

  2. Two pieces of space “stuff”, err, kissing? Or perhaps a space bra?

    Sorry, I’m apparently feeling (seeing) a bit irreverent tonight. Whatever it is it’s beautiful, I’d love to see more of the photographer’s work.

  3. Ree says:

    It’s a star explosion? Or some sort of new nebula?

    Did you discover it?

  4. NYFriend says:

    Aurora’s guess: Crab Nebula

    Mine (cold): Hmmm…it’s collimated, with a donut in the middle, a Pulsar? Geez I feel REALLY rusty. 😛😦 GRB seems unlikely, but maybe…?

    Off to investigate what it really is. 😉

  5. some sort of breast scan?

  6. my husband thinks “it is a celestial thing taken from the hubble telescope”..:)

  7. iMuslimah says:

    This should put an end to all the guessing: it’s an intergalactic butterfly.

    If I had to really think hard….space cloud of gasses?

    Whatever it is, it is truly beautiful.

  8. Chel says:

    I thought it was some kind of space explosion.

  9. Jenny says:

    hubby (who looks at the hubble images just for fun) says butterfly nebula
    I say its a nebula too but am quite intrigued by why its is being seemingly constricted by the swirl of gas in the middle

  10. Angela says:

    Tom said either Nova or neutron star giving off radiation.

    I thought star explosion.

    My mother thought meteor collision.

    I hope you’ll tweet the answer!

  11. andy says:

    Its beautiful.
    This is a star explosion..
    this picture taken by Hubble ithink so. not sure..

    Best Regards,
    Andy
    online Doctor Chat

  12. misty appling says:

    nebula

  13. Butterfly Nebula, and it’s beautiful.

  14. Amy says:

    Butterfly nebula. I think we had this very picture hung in our stairway for a while in our old place.

  15. Lain says:

    It’s the Bow Tie Pasta Nebula. I think Kirk ran into it in an episode of the Original Series. And then ate it with some Romulan marinara.

  16. Liz says:

    At first I thought it was a cross-section of a mammogram. Then I thought it might be space trash hitting the earth’s atmosphere.

  17. Susan says:

    Space Cloud Butterfly, clearly.

  18. Nette says:

    A solar system

  19. Christine says:

    a nebula

  20. Kathy U says:

    Oh, excuse me! Does anyone have a handkerchief?

  21. Dianne Duffy says:

    it’s a butterfly nebula.

  22. upsidebackwards says:

    It’s an awesome mystery of beauty. Yeah, sure, nebula, but isn’t your first reaction “Wow! How amazing!”? (And next my scientific little brain says “I wonder why/how/…”) 🙂 Thanks for posting the pic, Susan – and making us all think a little bit!

  23. Nicole says:

    Bill Nye’s Bow Tie Nebula?

  24. Absolutely beautiful is what it is! Breathtaking. Very much butterfly looking.

  25. JamsWife says:

    Solar flair

  26. Diane Clark says:

    I like Butterfly Nebula. Maybe lepidoptera if you want to keep it science-y. It’s lovely, though, really.

  27. Mel says:

    I feel like it’s something in space (hence the stars) and without looking at what people said above me and knowing next to nothing about space…two black holes meeting? I know that doesn’t make sense but what if two black holes meeting created an enormous…white hole. Can you tell that I was an English major?

  28. Kimberly says:

    It looks beautiful. I love looking at creation, even the farthest corners of the universe contain amazing things! Others obviously know the answer, but I would have said that it looks like you are looking up through the tail of a comet.

  29. Anna says:

    collision of two “somethings” of similar proportions?

  30. Amelie says:

    Beautiful indeed. If you were in my field, I’d say a cell in mitosis, with the spindles pulling on the centromeres. But since this seems to be from space… something collapsing or dividing. Actually I love the space butterfly theory from above.

  31. Stella says:

    Well, I should have answered before I read everyone else’s answers. Now my nova/nebula (whatever the difference is between the two) just sounds all copy-catty. So I’ll be different and say a forming black hole.

  32. Sixis says:

    Cosmic kissing.

    Gorgeous.

  33. I’m totally un-sciency so I am guessing some sort of gas formation taken by the Hubble. Maybe the beginning of a universe?? (sorry – that’s all you get from an English major.)

  34. Jocelyn says:

    A psychological ink-blot test for the scientifically-inclined (or not)?

  35. Margaret says:

    Two stars kissing?

  36. Eve says:

    It’s either a scene from 2012 or a beautiful space butterfly. Either way, we can only watch.

  37. Sarah says:

    Cosmic mitosis.

  38. Cyndi says:

    The path to heaven? Or at least some place mystical.

  39. Anne Rogers says:

    I wasn’t even looking and I stumbled upon this picture elsewhere online today, unfortunately it didn’t tell me what it was, but it’s definitely from space. However it makes me think of breasts, I was probably nursing when I first saw the picture!

  40. Lisa says:

    It’s stellar! Loving the posts!

  41. Karen says:

    a speeding galaxy!

  42. Hannah says:

    Either a planetary nebula or a young stellar object.

  43. Lyn says:

    Beauty. A beginning and an ending. Perspective.

  44. Krista says:

    I know it’s something in space… I was going to say birth of a star, but then I realized it was only going out in 2 directions basically… so I have no idea!🙂

  45. iMuslimah says:

    @ Sarah Says: hilarious! Now that you say it, its quite clear thats what it is!

  46. claire says:

    two star-fish, kissing

  47. bejuce says:

    Candy wrapper up close.

  48. Rebecca U says:

    I thought butterfly, like so many others.

    I had my mammo two weeks ago and I can totally see that being a funky, beautified shot of the squished girls merged together.

  49. Keri says:

    I have been lurking forever – but thought I would chime in. Totally looks like some scan of boobies…..”kissing”……….can’t wait to see what it actually is!

  50. Kate says:

    I am really excited to hear the answer-there are so many possibilities.

  51. yasmara says:

    Butterfly Nebula, taken by Hubble.

  52. militarymommie says:

    it is a beautiful picture of a star nebula. I hope you tell us where and when and by whom/what it was taken.

  53. Carrie says:

    Could this be some type of storm between 2 galaxies? I will be interested to find out what it is.

  54. […] That’s right — the image I posted last time really is called the butterfly nebula!  I love that so many of you coined the term as well, and […]

  55. […] of a star What do you see in this image?  Last weekend, readers of this blog theorized about the image to the left, and came up with some beautiful ideas.  An intergalactic […]

  56. Gunfighter says:

    It’s that asteroid from “Armageddon” exploding.

