Inverse proportion

The words I write here are in inverse proportion to the words I write in the book.  And so, like much-loved and much-read bloggers before me, this place quiets, stills, and is hushed some days as I write like mad elsewhere, and that is all well and good, for the other writing is my j-o-b, but still, on those days, on these days, days like this — I miss you.  I miss talking to you and hearing from you and being here in this space with you, and tonight, I just wanted you to know that.

Merry Christmas, friends who celebrate the birth of Christ.

Happy Hanukkah, friends who celebrate the miracle of the oil.

Happy Kwanzaa, friends who celebrate the seven principles.

I wish you all health, and peace, and joy in the coming year.

8 Responses to Inverse proportion

  1. alice c says:

    You and your family are never far from my mind even when you are not writing here. You represent the triumph of hope and courage over great adversity and I have learned so much from you. Enjoy your Christmas with your family – every sweet minute of it – and then go back to writing your book because those things are what I wished for you all through those difficult months.

  2. upsidebackwards says:

    What Alice said. She’s expressed my sentiments perfectly too. Thanks, Alice!
    Have a wonderful Christmas.

  3. *m* says:

    And ditto alice c’s words from me! Have a joy-filled, fabulous Christmas with those beautiful little boys!

  4. justenjoyhim says:

    Happy Holidays, Susan. I’ve been meaning to send out a thank you card, but haven’t . . . please know that you’ve been on my mind and in my heart. You’ve touched my life in so many ways, and for that, I thank you. 🙂

  5. carosgram says:

    Happy Holidays and a Merry New Year!

  6. Tracey says:

    Merry Christmas to you. I hope that you have a beautiful one!

  7. Lisa says:

    Merry Christmas!
    Hugs!

  8. clifford says:

    Merry Christmas Sus! Tell C-man and the kidfolk that I said hello. I will dodge a bullet or two out in Jacktown tonight in your honor.

