Action knows no boundaries

Two days later, and still, the words won’t come. I sit here at my keyboard, and I’m paralyzed by the stories of the people stuck in a nightmare, the nightmare that is Haiti today.  I weep for the babies, ready to come to the U.S., and I weep for their caretakers, ordinary girls from the ‘Burgh, and I weep for the hundreds of thousands that call Haiti home.

I can’t wrap my arms around all of Haiti, comforting them, whispering them well, as I hand them clothes from my overstuffed closet, share our sleeping bags, and welcome them to our table — but I wish I could.

Today, I’m donating to @UNICEF, because I know they know what to do for relief for the citizens of Haiti after the earthquake, and they’re on their way with desparately needed supplies.

The kinds of things that any mom would bring to a child in need, if only we could.

Join me and thousands of other moms on the internet, facebook, and twitter, by making a donation and talking about it.  The hashtag is #moms4haiti. . . your action matters.

4 Responses to Action knows no boundaries

  1. Kristin says:

    I’m normally not one to donate and talk about it. My charitable works, I generally keep to myself, but this morning, I donated money to the Red Cross for Haiti and I wrote about it. Then, I supported a friend in the breast cancer walk.

    Take that, bad stuff!

    (Then, I got out of bed and got ready for work.)

  2. *m* says:

    Yesterday we donated to the relief effort via Save the Children. For years, we sponsored two little Haitian girls through their program. Where and how are they now? We can only wonder. The devastation is almost beyond imagination.

    Angeline and Ysemania — we are thinking of you.

  3. Thanks, Susan, for having the link here and sharing the hashtag. I could hardly swallow my first gulp of coffee this morning when I glanced at the front page of the paper.

    It’s so easy to get wrapped up in our daily lives–even when the days are filled with sick kids and everyday troubles–but the situation in Haiti puts it all into perspective.

