Disappointed…?

Thank you for your wonderfully supportive comments on Facebook and Twitter this week, but I wasn’t selected to testify before that Congressional Committee.

My piece for the Washington Post was turned down too, and I didn’t hear from a couple of other places I sent it. Perhaps it was too internet-oriented, as I wrote (and submitted) it just after the FB bra flap.  Oh well.

I suppose I can’t be too disappointed … I spent Monday afternoon at the oncologist’s for a routine exam, and although there were a couple rough spots, including when I was offered a brain scan to check on my headaches (um, no thanks!), everything is just fine.  They’re not concerned.  There is no sign of metastasis, and I’ve “graduated” to a second hormone therapy medication. (Goodbye, Tamoxifen!)  This drug comes with its own special set of side effects (like I needed more aches and pains?), but it also has been shown to reduce the recurrence of hormone-dependent cancer in postmenopausal women.

Yeah. I said it.

Postmenopausal.  Not a word that you hear around the playgroup too often.  But that’s what it is.  That’s what happens when they rip out your ovaries.  But you know what?  I’m still here.  I’m still kicking, and I’m still fighting.  And I will keep speaking out for as long as I can talk or type.  The message will get out there.  And one day, there will be early detection and uncomplicated treatment, and finally, a reason not to fear a diagnosis of cancer.

13 Responses to Disappointed…?

  1. marty says:

    Love you much. The good news far outweighs the bad today.🙂

  2. Thank god for good news. The rest pales in comparison.

  3. Lain says:

    Do you plan to post the piece that the paper didn’t run?

  4. *m* says:

    Cheers for the good and most important news!

    You are a fabulous advocate who has already educated and inspired so many people. I have no doubt that you will continue to do so.

  5. Stimey says:

    So happy to hear your good news!!!

  6. Tracy says:

    My doctor has told me to hope I become postmenopausal before my course of Tamoxifen is up because aromatase inhibitors so well. If I don’t go into menopause in the next 3 years though I don’t get to take them and I don’t get the benefits.

    So I call that good news. It is news I want for me, anyway, so colour me a little bit jealous.

    • Susan (WhyMommy) says:

      Jealous? Of ME? I’ma gonna have to sit with that one a little bit.

      Thanks for the kick in perspective.

      Tamoxifen did it for me pretty quicky, and then my ioopherectomy finished it off (that was a typo, but I’m laughing so hard now I can’t delete it — ioopherectomy — as if it were one of the fancy new products from Apple!).

      According to my oncologist, the research supporting aromatase inhibitors for women made prematurely postmenopausal isn’t there yet, but it’s worth a roll of the dice.

      I hate that there’s not even a clinical trial on this, though. If we’re going to gamble, can’t somebody even keep track of whether we live or die?

  7. upsidebackwards says:

    Hooray for the good news! And yes, you are still here, still going strong, and still speaking out – perhaps not in all the places you’d like to be at the moment, but nonetheless being heard. I think you’re amazing. (and I know I’m not alone!)
    Don’t be disappointed. Go hug the kids again. 🙂

  8. Kristen says:

    You are too cool for the Hill anyway. Next time, they’ll be calling you.

    So happy to hear the good news.

  9. Sounds like it was still a pretty great week! I’m with Kristen and as far as the post goes, The Post will be sorry when you have a publisher offering you an unsolicited book deal!

  10. Jennifer Gunn says:

    Susan, I am sorry to hear about Congress and The Post, but I am so glad that your physical prognosis is going well. That is what truly counts. Praying for ya:)

  11. amanda says:

    Wishing I could publish you or alleviate the pain. Until things change, I’ll just do my part by reading, retweeting and admiring you.

