A day without pain

A day without pain is not just a dream anymore. Thanks to my AMAZING PT at the rehab center, my scar tissue is finally beginning to yield and my pain subside.

Near the end of our session on Wednesday, Janice ripped some scar tissue on my side and I felt my spine … pop. She ripped another cord, and my spine popped again. Four times she ripped, and four times, my spine popped audibly and I felt my muscles relax. It finally worked, and our thesis was proven — all this time, the webs of scar tissue have been holding my sin to my fascia, my fascia to my muscles, my muscles taut, and pulling my spine sideways at a particular vertebra.

When enough scar tissue had been broken, tamed, or realigned along my muscle, the final cords still held the muscles taut, making them ache, and the vertebra pull out of place. But when those final four cords were broken, the muscle was released, the vertebra freed —

and so was I. Thursday and Friday were days without pain. It was incredible. Amazing.

I’d almost forgotton what it was like to not suffer through the day, lying down to relieve the pain, and medicating the rest away.

It was incredible.

It’s back today, but I see Janice again soon, and now it’s easier to believe that I can overcome this pain, continue therapy, and move on with my life.

I’m going to move on with my life.

Next week, I’m going to try to talk more here about the rest of my life — the research, the consulting, the book(s) I’m writing, and the wonderful people I’m meeting who do amazing work.

Every Friday will be Scientist Friday here on the blog; I’ll introduce you to an amazing woman scientist and her work, and include a link to some fun activities that you can do with your kids to help them learn about planets, comets, asteroids, and the sun.

Planetary science is amazing — and I’d much rather talk (and think) about cool science as I work toward healing.

So. I’m looking forward to Fridays. Come back then?

16 Responses to A day without pain

  1. slouchy says:

    so glad about the absence of pain. long may it last.

    love you.

  2. Bon says:

    the word “rip” makes me shudder. but if it’s creating days without pain, then may she rip away.

    i will be here Friday.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lynn says:

    I’m so glad for you Susan. Your previous post on scar tissue really made me think about the lasting effects of cancer. My mother-in-law had very advanced cervical cancer over 20 years ago and as a result had gastrointestinal issues from the scar tissue. Is there any research going on that studies how to get rid of scar tissue without it growing back in more intensity?

    BTW, I met you at the belly dancing get together. I was with Sue (from Launrdy for Six). I work on an NCI contract (supporting the Cancer Information Service).

  4. Stimey says:

    Thank goodness. I wish you many more days without pain. I’m so sorry that you have to go through this. And I’m looking forward to reading on your new topics.

  5. Linda Lawrence says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. magpie says:

    so glad that the pain is moving away. and your new arm thing sounds cool. all best to you, and here’s to the planets!

  7. upsidebackwards says:

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!
    First, for days without pain. Second for Janice, her expertise, insight and persistence. Third, for you feeling great and moving on. And another hooray, because I’m really looking forward to Fridays now: looking forward to learning from experts and sharing with my kids.

  8. Susan says:

    SO happy to hear this! May those pain-free periods come sooner and last longer…

  9. Ruthie says:

    It is amazing that people are able to function in a constant level of pain. This type of therapy work is very necessary to help restore function eliminate pain….I would be interested in anyone who is doing any sort of research to reduce the amount of scar tissue build up that results from surgery such as yours. I think the key would be therapy early on to not allow scar tissue the chance to adhere to underlying structures. Easier said than done, I am sure.

  10. izzy's mama says:

    You are one courageous mommy. I used to read your posts awhile back on the Toddler Planet site and I am glad that you are doing so well now. I found my way to this site today because now I too am a “mom with cancer”. I was recently diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I have had a hysterectomy and I am now undergoing chemotherapy. I was searching for inspiration and found your site. You can check out some of my posts here:
    http://www.izzyeats.com/2010/02/chemo-day-two-not-much-to-recommend-it.html

  11. jodifur says:

    My 4 year old, almost 5 year old, will love Science Friday. He constantly tells us he is going to be a Scientist when he grows up. I don’t even think he knows what that means!

    I hope you are pain free soon!

  12. NYFriend says:

    Yea! I am so very happy for you that you’ve broken through that wall, and further relief is in sight.

    I am really looking forward to your Scientist Friday posts. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Amelie says:

    What Bon said. Hoping for many more pain-free days for you.
    And, of course, I am totally looking forward to Scientist Friday!

  14. Aunt Pat says:

    That’s Great News ! Hope your pain is gone very soon .

    LOVE

  15. […] well at the time, but I figured it was weeks away, and surely, surely I would be better by then.ย  And I was.ย  I was gloriously without pain last week at this time, jaunting off to Texas for a professional […]

