Thanks, Mom

for everything.

It meant the world to me to have you come out this week and care for my little boys, cook for my family, and be here for me as I fought this terrible infection and tried to get my head above water again.  You knew I needed you without asking, and you came and did the things I couldn’t do, without making me feel that it was a big deal at all.

It was.

Thanks for helping, and for helping me keep my dignity about it.  So often, those of us who struggle or are sick are hesitant to ask for help, and really don’t want anyone to know that we’re having a bad time of it.  So often, we try to be SuperMom, and I think that’s what I was doing too.  Since I wrote that post and let it all hang out there, though, I’ve received the nicest cards, phone calls, and comments, and I’m encouraged, taking steps to get things moving here again.  It will be okay.

It will.

Don’t worry about me.  I’ll get up again.  I just was knocked pretty hard this time.  It’s been discouraging.  But you know that, even if I can’t talk about it.  You’re my mom.  Thanks for being there for me, even as hard as it must be for you too, to be a mom of someone with cancer.  I’m sorry that you have to go through this.  Thanks for going through it with me, Mom. I love you.

Happy Mother’s Day 2010.   

13 Responses to Thanks, Mom

  1. marty says:

    You have an awesome mom. I love her.

  2. What a lovely post in honor of your Mom. You both are very fortunate to have each other.

  3. upsidebackwards says:

    I think her superpower must be love, too. Happy Mothers’ Day to you both.

  4. *m* says:

    “upsidebackwards” took the words right out of my mouth. Superpowers are definitely hereditary! Thinking of you on Mom’s Day.

  5. Niksmom says:

    Yep, I echo upsidebackwards 100%! Sending you good thoughts, prayers and wishes for a smooth week.

  6. Sara W. says:

    Ok, now I have a huge lump in my throat. What a lovely post in honor of your Mom!!! What a wonderful Mother you have, and what a wonderful Mother you are!

    How nice that she was able to be with you and the boys. That is so special.

    Thinking of you.

  7. leashab says:

    Well that was beautiful and made me cryxx

  8. NoR says:

    And happy mother’s day to you. You are a great mom.

  9. Linda Lawrence says:

    Great post! Your mom is high on my list of inspirational mothers!

  10. Andrea says:

    I’m the mom of a mom (aka: an adult daughter who is married & has a child). Thank you, Susan, for saying “thank you” to your mom!

    Lots of times we moms (even when our kids aren’t little anymore!) sacrifice… give everything we have… unconditionally “be there”… help until we ache… for very little appreciation uttered.

    We do NOT do it for the “appreciation”, of course… but not having to wonder whether we’re helping or intruding is always nice.

    Thanks again… and I’m praying for you, honey.

    Love~ Andrea
    xoxoxoxox

  11. Wonderful Post!

    Praying for you!

  12. Elaine says:

    Man it’s nice when Mom knows exactly what a daughter needs. Glad you have a great one!

