Three-Day Weekend: Be Careful Out There!

Dear Friends,

I know that with the latest news about sunscreen and the confusing study results, it’s tough to know what to do about that bottle of sunscreen on the shelf.  I know I’ve been confused — use it? Don’t use it? Panic? Don’t panic?  Well, my friend Catherine Morgan has just written a piece over at BlogHer summarizing the issue and the responses to it, including one just for us bloggers from the American Cancer Society.  She lays it all out for us, and I encourage you to read Catherine’s piece.

As you make your plans for Memorial Day, won’t you please remember to Slip, Slap, Slop (Slip on a shirt, slap on a hat, slop on the sunscreen) and protect yourself and your children from the sun’s harsh rays, particularly when they’re at their peak?

If it’s still too much trouble or too awkward to throw on a shirt or a coverup at the beach this weekend, please read this piece by Julie Pippert to understand the importance of skin checks.

Prevention is so much easier than treatment.  Be careful out there.

Susan

7 Responses to Three-Day Weekend: Be Careful Out There!

  1. Susan, thank you so much for this great post (and the link)! So, so important!

  2. Elaine says:

    Thanks for sharing this link! On go the wide brim hats – and the sunscreen!

  3. Robbin says:

    I have pretty much stopped swimming in a swimsuit. I wear a rashguard and surf shorts. Don’t have to worry about constant sunscreen application. My red-haired, blue-eyed self is a walking advertisement for skin cancer prevention.

  4. Morra says:

    And if you’re into Paraben free stuff…I like Jason, Nature’s Gate, and pretty much any brand they sell at the natural store. I’m pregnant and while I value sunscreen, I don’t like a lot of chemicals in my screen. Have a great weekend and thank you for the post Susan!!

  5. Or, you can live in Portland (OR) where it is guaranteed to rain all Memorial Day weekend.

  6. Thanks a lot for sharing this link, fantastic.

    Angie.

  7. […] From Susan at Toddler Planet – Three-Day Weekend:  Be Careful Out There! […]

