And the good news is …

… No evidence of disease!

My PET scan and both CTs show no new tumors, and no evidence of any hypermetabolic activity. Which is GOOD NEWS.

I’m not strong enough to start chemo yet, says the oncologist, so we’ll wait 2.5-3 weeks and then get on that. I’ll be taking chemo in a pill to kill the small cancer cells and clusters that don’t show up on scans. 4 pills, twice a day, for 2 weeks, then a week off, then 2 weeks on — for 6 months. More details about that another day.

For now, I’m to rest when I need to, get out when I can, and enjoy life without worrying about the cancer.

Hallelujah.

71 Responses to And the good news is …

  1. Elaine says:

    Yay! Now go enjoy BlogHer so you can tell those of us at home how fabulous women bloggers are! And enjoy your part in the keynote.

  2. SO HAPPY FOR YOU, your family, your friends and your peace of mind and happiness!!!!!! I love you. Best news I’ve heard ALL YEAR!!

  3. Viki says:

    What great news!!!

  4. Stimey says:

    Hells yes. I am so happy for you.

  5. Heather says:

    Happy doesn’t even cover it. Here’s to soaking up the rest of summer with family and friends!

  6. *m* says:

    YIPPEE YIPPEE YIPPEE YIPPEE!
    Have a great time at BlogHer!

  7. Ditto! Happy doesn’t even begin to cover it. xxoo

  8. magpie says:

    Best thing I’ve heard all day.

  9. Kate @ upsidebackwards says:

    HOORAY!!!!!

  10. Sylvia says:

    What wonderful news, God Bless you and your family, so happy for all of you.

  11. I’m sorta all teary and stuff. It brings me back to days of getting THAT phone call w/ updates on my dad. I appreciate good new now more than most people I think. So so happy for you Susan and the whole family.

  12. Sunday says:

    Praise God! I could not be more happy for you and your sweet family!

  13. OH YAY!!!! This is the best!! I am so very happy for you!

  14. jodifur says:

    YEAH!!!!!WAHOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

  15. amen, amen, amen.

  16. Maria says:

    So happy to hear this!

  17. Let’s celebrate at BlogHer! πŸ˜€

  18. Niksmom says:

    Doing the happy dance here!

  19. Amy@UWM says:

    Susan, that’s the best new possible! Fantastic!

  20. divrchk says:

    This is the best news! Woohoo!

  21. Linda Lawrence says:

    Great news! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  22. NYFriend says:

    Halle-FREAKIN’-lujah!!! πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

  23. bon says:

    thank god. am delighted. am happy. am celebrating for you!

  24. Donna W says:

    Good news indeed.

  25. De-lurking to offer congratulations on this fantastic news.πŸ™‚

  26. allison says:

    Really nice of you to post it here so quickly.

  27. Mama Echo says:

    Hallelujah indeed!!

  28. Erika Jurney says:

    Fantastic news!!!

  29. Kristen says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Seriously, crying happy tears. Deep breath.

    And pouring you a margarita.

  30. J.J. says:

    You are like the freaking science mommy ninja of beating down cancer! Way to go! We all knew you could beat the hell out of it! I’m so happy for you!

    Although I’m slightly terrified of all that you will be able to do when you are NOT tired! You run circles around me when you are fighting cancer, what will you do when you are not?

  31. Eve says:

    I’m SO glad for you!!!

    Eve in Silver Spring

  32. Robin Hurwitz says:

    YES!

  33. Montessori Mommy says:

    I am OVERJOYED to hear this news. I was thinking of you today and was almost scared to look to see if you had posted your results.

    YIPEE! YIPEE! YIPEE!

  34. Elizabeth says:

    Mazel tov! YAY! Have a great time at BlogHer!

  35. Robin says:

    I’m soooo happy for you. Got tears in my eyes when I read it on twitter.

  36. julie says:

    YEAH, so happy to hear that news!!!

  37. Becky says:

    AWESOME!!!! Wonderful news!!!

  38. Happy happy joy joy fantastic news — and a big YAHOO!!!!!

  39. Susan! What joy! I am celebrating with you in spirit!

  40. Spacemom says:

    Woot! That is awesome news!

  41. Ruthie from California says:

    So glad to hear the GREAT news!

  42. ella says:

    So thrilled for you!! x

  43. Popping out of lurkdom to say Thankyou God! Oh, after your last post I prayed so hard! Enjoy BlogHer and being a Mom and being an astrophysicist! Praying that the chemo pills do everything they are supposed to do, and aren’t too hard on you as they do it.

  44. […] my friend Whymommy met with her oncologist today and got some excellent news of her own.Β  I’ve been breaking into a little “happy dance” ever since I […]

  45. elesha says:

    Thats just the best news EVERRRRRRR. Im so happy you got this great news today well dont to your body lol

  46. elesha says:

    i mean well done!! to your body for kicking cancers ass

  47. lisa says:

    FABULOUS!!!!!

  48. Aunt Pat says:

    Great News !

    Love

  49. Suzanne Guthrie says:

    So happy for you-love to all!!

  50. JenE says:

    AWESOME NEWS!!! WooHOO!!!!

  51. k8 says:

    so happy for your good news! I hope it keeps coming!

    k8

  52. Nadia says:

    Great news!

  53. byrney says:

    Great news I’m really happy for you and your family!!

  54. JenC says:

    Yay.

  55. claire says:

    that is SO good to hear.

  56. Marcia Chang says:

    Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for you!!

  57. Stephanie says:

    That is really wonderful news! I’m so glad!

  58. Also the best thing I’ve heard today. Big grin here.

  59. donna says:

    Remember me?? I am the one that told ya you would be wearing your boys old sweatshirts one day. Still think so too!! My dear friend who is almost as strong as you got eight years when no one would have given her 8 months at the start.(this was back when they did all the stuff in the wrong order and everything) Keepin on keepin on can suck a bit(big time)- but you do it with such grace and style. Big big hug comin at ya—-love to the boys too.

  60. Lisa says:

    WOW!!! That’s fantastic!

    Lisa
    Hampshire, UK

  61. kami says:

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! πŸ™‚

  62. ColleenZ says:

    Susan, I knew JPII would not let you down. Am crying tears of joy. Best news Ive heard in so long!

  63. CreativeCrocheter says:

    Yeah! Rah! Whoop whoop!

  64. JoC says:

    Woooohooo! Very happy news!

  65. Jill Aldrich says:

    Last time I tried to leave this big whoo hoo, I lost my connection. So, here it is again: WHOO HOO! And good luck at Blogher, SusanπŸ™‚

  66. planetnomad says:

    Hallelujah is right! What wonderful newsπŸ™‚πŸ™‚ (Sorry I’m late–traveling and behind on my blogs…)

