Fighting breast cancer — with our actions, and our words

BlogHer asked me to write a post for them this week.  I dillyed and I dallyed, hesitant to dip my toe in over there, and to ask the blogosphere for a single thing more.  But in the end, I did, because the cause they asked me to write about — blogging about the Avon / Love Army of Women and the opportunity to make a difference with our words on October 1, was important. 

Here’s how it starts.  I hope you’ll click through to read the rest.

One in eight women will get breast cancer.  But you know that, right?  You walk in the walks, you do your self-exams, and you worry about your friends who find a lump or start treatment at an early age.  October floods the shelves with cutesy pink ribbons, yogurt lids, and vacuums, and you roll your eyes in private at all the attention given to breast cancer awareness.  You’re AWARE already, and lament that with all the attention and funding given to breast cancer, there should be a cure by now.

You’re right.  There should be a cure by now. (more at BlogHer)

Comments are welcome here or there.

If you’re going to BlogHer this weekend, please join me at any or all the following events:

Session 1: Stimey‘s session: 

Blogging Autism: Shattering Myths, Opening Eyes, and Finding Your Tribe 

Session 2: Change Agents: @fakeplasticfish @lawyermama Melissa Silverstein and Gina McCauley speak on

Creating Tangible Social Change: How to Move People to Action

Session 3: Change Agents:  @JessicaAPISS, @TechSavvyMama, @Teachmama, and I are facilitating a Room of Your Own for discussion and community-building:

Resource Blogging: Serving Your Community One Post at a Time

Community Keynote, BlogHer Voices of the Year Gala and Art Auction

Featuring my gold shoes, and a post yet-to-be-announced

Session 4: Our friend @punditmom, @phdinparenting, and @stephanieroberts talk about the power of women blogging online:

Change Agents: Radical Blogging Moms: Don’t Even Think About Not Taking These Moms Seriously

Morning Keynote:

The International Activist Blogger Scholarship Recipients Esra’a Al Shafei, Dushiyanthini Kanagasabapathipllai, Marie Tringona and Freshta Basij-Rasikh are appearing on BlogHer occasionally, and their words are a peek into a different set of worlds I was not even aware still existed. This is important, and I’ll give up a competing sponsor event for this. These women are incredible, speaking up wtih their words as their very lives are threatened.

Session 5: Change Agents: Morra Aarons-Mele and Stephanie Wilchfort are leading an intriguing action-based session that I’m really looking forward to:

Screw Work-Life Balance: We Need Work-Life Policy!

What other sessions are you going to?  Why?

4 Responses to Fighting breast cancer — with our actions, and our words

  1. I am so excited about seeing you at BlogHer. Thanks for this great post!

    I am hoping to attend some of the tech sessions, because as you know if you’ve ever seen my blog, it could use some help from a design and technical perspective! It’s a miracle my plain old blog has done so well – and that fact shows that the power of words still reigns supreme. Still, I think I could get more new visitors if the blog looked more welcoming.

    I also have a friend from Green Moms Carnival – Micaela – leading a panel on Mindful Monetization. I’m really looking forward to that too.

    There’s just too much to do at Blogher! The sessions look great, then there are suites, the expo floor, etc.

    Ironically, I will also be going to BlogHer to meet other DC area bloggers!🙂

    Also, I think you should wear a LARGE sign that says HUG GENTLY PLEASE. I am worried you WILL be hugged too hard otherwise. I for one confess to being a shrieker and a tight hugger (just ask Stimey!) I hope I have the presence of mind not to hug you too hard, given your aches and pains!

  2. Elaine says:

    I’m in for the writing about the Army of Women in September! I’m still waiting to get a study that I qualify for, but eventually one will come up. I’m sure a lot of very brilliant people are working on this. A cure will come. Let’s just all hope it’s sooner rather than later!

  3. yasmara says:

    I tried to access your article link on BlogHer but got a 403-Access Denied error!

  4. whymommy says:

    Yasmara, it was down briefly while they posted it to the front page. Please try again!

