A soccer mom, not a moment too soon

My oldest child writes words each afternoon, to earn wii time (his plan, at a few minutes per word) and to practice his penmanship (mommy’s plan, no matter what it takes).  During Friday’s session, we were learning how to transform verbs into nouns (thought mommy) and make new words for bonus points (said the child). 

All was going quite well, and he carefully formed the words on the page:

  • BIKE
  • BIKER
  • BUILD
  • BUILDER
  • DRIVE

I prompted him for the next word, asking, “And what do we call someone who drives?”

  • MOMMY

True, that.  In other news, I’m feeling tons better after resting Thursday-Friday-Saturday while friends and grandparents cared for the children and took care of meals (again, THANK YOU).  I was able to go to church this morning and even stay for the church picnic.  I was able to rest, then write this afternoon, and tomorrow morning I’ll be up bright and early to run the kids to school before I revise Chapter 4.  Because, of all the things I am, I’m of course also the kids’

  • DRIVER

17 Responses to A soccer mom, not a moment too soon

  1. LOVE IT!!! But it takes a freaking village and we all have extra boosters and honey, I am so asking you to be my kids’ DRIVER too when I’m in a pinch! xoxo

  2. carosgram says:

    Glad you are feeling better

  3. Lisa says:

    Love this! Glad you are feeling better. Talk soon!

  4. Susan says:

    Thanks for a laugh-out-loud in the morning! Glad you are feeling a bit better, too.

  5. HA! This is one of my all-time favorite posts EVER, Susan!

    I am sitting here, alone, laughing out loud. LOVE that you used your village when you needed to, love that you’re playing with words over there with one of the smartest boys ever, and love that HE came up with the write-to-play-Wii plan. Love that Mom is his driver. This will make me laugh for a long time.

    Lots of hugs to you on this pretty fall morning, friend. Good luck w/ Chapter 4.

    xo
    amy

  6. Stimey says:

    HA! That’s really funny. Kids are hysterical.

    Happy you’re feeling better!

  7. ilinap says:

    So cute! And to transform a word one more time, I’d also say that you’re driven. Hugs to you!

  8. Becky says:

    Oh, how I can relate to trying to get my child to slow down and write legibly. Great ideas on how to make this fun, and sneak in some spelling! Wonder if it was such a struggle to do homework for our parents? We’re working to make it a routine in our home, but it’s a work in progress! Thinking of you and glad to hear about your strong weekend.

  9. Jess says:

    Love it!! So true! I am so glad to hear you are more rested. Have a good week!

  10. Betsy says:

    Great idea, clever boy, cute story, good news. Thanks for sharing. We continue to pray and trust.

  11. Linda Lawrence says:

    Cute! 🙂

  12. Susan, hello –

    I have been reading your stuff. You are very brave, and yes, as your young one sayd, you truly are someone who ‘drives.’

    I did a piece on Chemo Day 1 at my blog site — to maybe help remove the bad mojo for others who face this the biggest boogeyman.

  13. Just as well I wasn’t drinking my tea when I read this – I snorted and it would not have been pretty! He’s a clever little man, your son. Out of the mouths of babes and all that🙂
    Your drive is amazing, and I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling better.

  14. I’m so glad to read this! And while there are days that I wish I spent less time in my car, I am really glad that you are feeling up to being “the person who drives”!

  15. Niksmom says:

    This made me chortle out loud. SO glad you’re getting help, rest, amusement, love.

  16. Becky says:

    Precious!

  17. daneliot says:

    Hi there I’m a new Single mom and I know it will be hard for me a long the way so I am browsing the web for some good blogs and I find your blog very interesting and helpful to be a good mother. Bookmarking your blog now. Thanks

