Striving for normalcy

In all we do these days, we are striving for normalcy for the children.  We have breakfast as a family, get the kids off to school together, and then I rest and/or write until it’s time for the kids to come home.  I’m always up and ready with a project (yesterday: cleaning up the old fish tank!) and we do that until dinner or until I’m exhausted, at which point we let them have a little tv.  I sleep until dinner (if i can eat) and then always, always get up to kiss them goodnight and put them to bed (of course we take turns normally, but these days I do it if I’m up to it).  The very routine is magical to me, and each day is another that I get to spend with my children and help them grow up.  A gift.  And each night, we thank God together for the gift of that day, and I ask Him, aloud with the kids or silently later, to “please heal Mommy.” 

Already, I am coming to acceptance of this as the new normal, the chemo normal, and I’m learning not to rage at the hours I must spend in bed, while my bones ache and I rock on the waves of nausea, and I want more than anything to be SuperMommy, happy to volunteer, present at pickup, ready with fun ideas and field trips to museums downtown.  But before I can be all that, first I must rest, and rest a lot.  The rest will come.

To help: Click and vote everyday in October for the Army of Women to get a $250k grant to help enroll ALL women, with and without breast cancer in research projects to find the cause AND the cures for cancer.  They particularly need to find women of color, so please vote and volunteer!  (You can also vote on Facebook.)  Thanks, friends….

10 Responses to Striving for normalcy

  1. Bon says:

    i voted. and i am holding you close in my heart.

  2. C. Mom says:

    You are and always will be supermommy in my eyes!!!

  3. magpie says:

    i voted and i put it on my FB page. be strong, friend.

  4. Stimey says:

    You are—and, as long as I’ve known you, have been—a terrifically present mother. Know that while this routine and their time is a gift to you, what you are giving to them is also a tremendous gift.

    • whymommy says:

      That’s what I want. I want them to remember all this, despite all the things I write here for you and wrestle with in my soul, as a calm and happy childhood.

      Thanks for coming by this morning, friend. It was fantastic to see you in person!

  5. Andrea says:

    Kick*ss GREAT videos to watch, Susan!! Wanted to share with you!!! It will be your blessing for the day.🙂

    http://coffeeandchemo.blogspot.com/

    Prayers~ Andrea

  6. You are already and always SuperMommy in my eyes too. My household is not as calm and child-focussed as yours, and I have none of the troubles that could rightly distract you. You’re my parenting hero!
    I voted, and I’ll add it to my daily routine. Lots of love and hugs to you.

  7. NYfriend says:

    You always have been and always will be SUPERMOMMY! You are using your superpowers for good in other ways right now. It is so obvious that you are doing so much for your kids, and it really shows. They’re such great dudes, and I can tell even from way over here that they feel your love for them.

    Big ole hugs to you SuperWoman. 🙂 Rest well my friend.

  8. Susan says:

    (((((Susan))))). You are indeed a super Mommy–taking care of yourself and your wonderful family.

  9. Deb says:

    Sending a gentle hug and prayers your way.

