Autism Shoutout

… because I can, and because these good mothers … these good WOMEN aren’t taking autism lying down. They’re standing up for their children, helping them, and using their voices to help us all understand a little better.  While some are shutting down their blogs and twitter and facebook today, to simulate the communication problems of people with autism, others are committed to a day of activism and speaking out. 

Today, I’m standing up and shouting WITH my real-life friends Sunday Stillwell (@xtremeparnthood) and Jean Winegardner (@stimey), and my blogfriends @Joeymom, @iampixiemama, and @Niksmom.  Please click and read their posts.  I’m hoping with this post to amplify their voices a little further, into corners where perhaps their voices don’t yet reach, and to hopefully introduce each to one person who doesn’t already hear their voices, their strong, loving voices, who bless me by showing me the depth of love of a parent for a child.  Not because the children are autistic, mind you — but simply because the children are their children, and they happen to communicate differently.  These friends have amazing things to say about their beautiful boys, and about being a mother of a child with autism.  Sunday, Jean, and all my blogfriends with children with special needs, thank you for raising my awareness of children with autism, and for helping me understand those whom I meet in the park, at the store, and around town. 

The one thing you didn’t need to teach me was how to love them, as little Jack did that all himself.

P.S. If you haven’t met Jumby, or if you’ve ever not known where to look when meeting a child with disabilities, please read this as well.  RedneckMommy is hurting today.

17 Responses to Autism Shoutout

  1. Melissa says:

    Thank you for this, Susan. So very much.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Susan N and Brandon Blietz, Sunday Stilwell. Sunday Stilwell said: RT @whymommy: Today's post is for @xtremeparnthood @stimey @iampixiemama @niksmom @joeymom . Thank you. http://bit.ly/9jlRYc #autismshoutout […]

  3. Stimey says:

    You’re going to go and make me cry. Thank you so much for using your voice too. And for loving Jack, just as I know you love all my children. You’re an amazing friend.

  4. Niksmom says:

    Thank you for this, Susan. You didn’t have to and that’s what makes it even more special. Thank you. (Crying. can’t see to write more, dammit.)

  5. Aw Susan. Thanks for the shout out. And thank you for advocating for these beautiful children. They deserve all this and so much more.

  6. profart says:

    Thank you. We love you!

  7. Thanks, Susan! These women – and @MagnetoBoldToo and @leechbabe, closer to my corner of the world – have taught me wonderful things about autism and children with special needs and special gifts. Our world is richer for them and their children and their love – and their writing.

  8. jennifer says:

    We do not have to stand iddly by while autism and other neuro disorders take our children. For those just beginning this journey, here are some websites that helped me help my daughter. I hope they offer you ideas and support:
    http://www.brainbalancecenters.com – education and behavioral interventions for children with autism/adhd.
    http://www.sensoryplanet.com – info and support for parents
    http://www.hartleysboys.com – info and support from a mother who has been there

    • whymommy says:

      While I disagree with the commenter’s terminology, I’m letting the comment stand in case the resources help another reader. I’m all in favor of women helping each other.

  9. Sunday says:

    Susan, thank you so much for your support and for your voice.
    You are a true friend and I could myself blessed to call you one of mine!

  10. Bonnie Parmenter says:

    Is it normal and what can you do about a 4 year old starting to hurt others feeling? Like refusing to sit by her great grandfather and not allowing her great grandmother to hug her. She used to be their favorite because she was so friendly and lovable and now she is starting to tell them to get out of her room and won’t let my mom hold her hand. She is acting like a little snot to certain friends but mostly the great grandparents. She also doesn’t want her disabled brother to even get close to her.
    Her parents and I (her grandmother) have had long talks with her and she just ignores us. She just started preschool and has wonderful teachers. Is this a stag? My mom has over 20 grand kids and can’t remember any of the acting like this. My brother is the only person in my family that I can recall behaving like this and he was a teenager.

    • whymommy says:

      I can’t say, Bonnie, I don’t know. Could it be a reaction to the transition to preschool? Perhaps. Could something else be going on? I haven’t the foggiest idea. I hope you can go talk to her teachers and try to figure out if she’s like this at school too, and what they think of the behavior. If you’re still worried, call your pediatrician — they’re trained to help you figure out whether to worry about behaviour changes.

      Good luck!

  11. Charles says:

    My wife was recently diagnosed with triple-negative IBC and completed her first chemo about 10 days ago. I also have a daughter who was diagnosed with autism when she was 2 years old. Thank you so much for your posts… I feel like I just came home — if you know what I mean… someone who can understand what I go through… Thanks and look forward to sharing much more. Charles

