Bone pain, again

Today is the last day of cycle 4 of #chemo2010 for me. I’ve been through this four times now, and the side effects follow roughly the same pattern. which I would be happy to tell you about, but my BONES hurt so much I’m just going back to bed instead.

Ever had shin splints? It feels like that — everywhere up and down my legs and arms, and it feels like knives rubbing against each other in my hip joints.

Argh. Going to rest, and to cuddle my little boys to sleep.

21 Responses to Bone pain, again

  1. Sunday says:

    Ugh, I HAVE had shin splints and it breaks my heart that you feel that all over your body.
    I’m praying you get a good night’s sleep and your boys tender kisses and I love you’s soothe your pain.

  2. Vickie says:

    I have vague memories of what shin splints feel like and even they are enough to make me shudder at how you are feeling. I hope the cuddles help even a little.

    Prayers for you!

  3. Andrea says:

    I am so incredibly sorry to hear about this bone pain you’re having, Susan. I’m not sure if you’ve learned how to pray the Rosary yet but may I suggest doing that? Oh, those wonderfully cool & smooth beads in my hands… those beautiful prayers… they comfort me like nothing else ever has & I think because, when you learn how to pray the Rosary, you don’t have to concentrate on it so much & that’s what helps during the pain. It’s the repetition that is so soothing. I’ve heard praying the Rosary being equated to “hanging on to the hem of Our Blessed Mother’s dress”.

    Hang on to Her hem, honey. She will be the One snuggling YOU to sleep.

    Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on Susan.
    Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for Susan.
    St. Joseph, pray for Susan.
    All the choirs of Angels & Saints in heaven, pray for Susan.
    Archangel Michael, pray for Susan & protect her.
    Mother of Good Counsel, pray for Susan.
    St. Faustina Kowalska, pray for Susan.

    Amen.
    ❤ Andrea

  4. Kirsten says:

    so sorry to hear about your bone pain – that sounds absolutely excruciating. Sending lots of healing thoughts and prayers.

  5. Melissa says:

    You’re in my thoughts, Susan, with all good wishes that you are feeling better soon.

  6. DD says:

    I am a 34 year old mother of one who just had the worst day of my life (so far anyway). I felt a lump in my breast about of month ago, and went to see my doctor about it. He said to watch it through one cycle and put me on antibiotics. When it didn’t go away, he sent me for a diagnostic mamogram, which led to an ultrasound, which led to a biopsy. I won’t know the results until Thursday, but the doctor said the borders are very irregular, and he was pretty concerned. My question to you is, how to you keep from losing your mind while waiting? I look at my six year old son and want to cry. I am a typically a very strong person, well educated, with a great husband and friends. Why do I feel so confused and alone right now? Thanks for the advice.

  7. NYFriend says:

    I hope you feel better soon!

  8. Ah Susan, I am so sorry you have to do that Taxol thing again! Once was enough for me.
    When I was diagnosed my children were 7 and 9, and I was a single mom. I understand the nature of the fight and I am praying and watching.
    I used Guided Imagery to help my body manufacture white blood cells, which was successful enough that I needed a reduced dose of neupogen. That really helped. I offer that in case it is helpful, and I know we all do it however we do it and it is right for us.
    Thank you for this beautiful blog.

    Love,
    Elizabeth Danu, Stage IIIC IBC survivor,diagnosed 2/07

  9. Kelley says:

    All over?

    Oh babe… sending no more freaking pain vibes your way.

  10. Nearly there, Susan – “only” two more cycles! Sending you lots of love and hugs and healing restful vibes. I’m sure sleepy-little-boy snuggles are a wonderful painkiller.

    @ DD – My fingers are firmly crossed for you, and I’m holding you in my heart too. I hope you can find the support you need right now.

    • DD says:

      Kate,

      Thanks so much for the kind words. I am a nervous wreck right now, but trying to remain optimistic. I will post something tomorrow when I know something. Thanks again for the support.

      DD

      • DD says:

        Just got my results in, and my biopsy came back positive for cancer. The “good” news is that I am stage 1 grade 1, so my chance of survival is very good. I will have to go through at least surgery and radiation, not sure about anything else yet. Don’t know why I am posting this, guess I just needed to say it.

        • DD, at least now you know and can take action! Check out Mothers With Cancer, you’ll find a wonderful supportive community there who know and understand what you’re going through.
          (Susan, sorry for hijacking comments a little bit, hope you don’t mind!)

  11. Amelie says:

    Oh Susan, I’m so sorry you’re in pain.
    Hoping that cuddling the boys will help a bit.

  12. JavaMom says:

    So sorry for your pain! However, I do think cuddling with your children is at least soothing to the heart, if not to the bones. You are in my prayers daily!

  13. Colleen says:

    I am so sorry that you have to deal with this again. Much love, many hugs, and check your email.

  14. i’m so sorry you’re not feeling well, but YAY for the last cycle!!! hope you’re on the mend really soon!!!

  15. Aunt Pat says:

    Sorry for your pain. You are in my thoughts and prayers every day. Love ya

  16. Teri says:

    Thinking of you today.

  17. […] been three days since I wrote my last post, and the feeling of shin splints all over my body is only now lessening.  It worsened late Monday, extending not just to my arms […]

