Happy. Nice. Curious.

I worry about my kids.  I worry a LOT about my kids.  How are they making it through this crazy time?  How do they deal with hearing my name listed among the sick that we pray for at church every Sunday?  How do they feel when they hear me say, “No, honey, Mama can’t” wrestle or swordfight or take them for a walk? 

Are they ok?

Are they going to be ok when they’re teenagers, or all grown up?  Will this time be a defining moment for them, something to point to in future therapy sessions?  Will they be ok?

But yesterday, my oldest brought home a drawing from school that made my heart sing.  They drew pictures of snow globes, and, out of anything in the world, he chose to draw himself playing with two friends.  He drew friends.

He didn’t draw the dark scary place that I was in.  He drew the happy, kid place that he was in.

And he’s going to be ok.

Today, he came home with simple homework:  write three words that describe who you are.  We waited to hear what words he’d choose, and, after his bath tonight, he told us:

Happy.  Nice.  and then he asked his Dad what word he’d use to describe him, curious what he would say.  Dad said, “curious.”  Widget smiled, and there the words were, all out in the open.  WhyMommy’s oldest boy had fulfilled her deepest hopes, all at the age of 6.  He is happy.  He is nice to others and his friends.  And he does ask “Why, Mommy?” just like I dreamed, well before he could talk.  They’re still the sweetest words, next to the last ones I hear every night, as I turn off his light and kiss his forehead as he goes to sleep:

“I love you too, Mommy.”

26 Responses to Happy. Nice. Curious.

  1. Colleen says:

    3 fabulous words.

  2. Deb says:

    Kids are amazingly strong. They will be ok and they’re lucky to have you.

  3. cagey says:

    Oh, how I love this post. LOVE. One of my greatest hopes for my kids is that they are always curious about their world. Even when they think they already have the answers.

    But yeah, hearing they love me helps. A little.

    Hugs to you – I appreciate you sharing your story with us. Taking the time to write these posts. My mom is also a big fan of yours, BTW. 🙂

  4. imstell says:

    Such awesomeness!

  5. marty says:

    And he is all of those things.

  6. ohgrammy says:

    Yes he is. Wonderful.

  7. You have wonderful, amazing children. And they have wonderful, amazing parents.

  8. Colleen says:

    Well, darn it, you made me cry again, Susan! What a wonderful little boy. What a wonderful mommy and daddy. And yes, I’d say all of those describe your boy.

  9. Sunday says:

    What an amazing little boy you have…clearly he takes after his Mommy!

  10. Linda Lawrence says:

    It must have felt like an early Valentine! Who could ask for better words from their children.🙂 🙂

  11. Stacey says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this sweet memories with us. Widget’s homework inspired me to ask my 5 year-old son, Griffin, his three words. He said, “Fun. Helpful. Love-full.” And it’s so true. He’s all of those things, and he always has been.

  12. NYFriend says:

    Awwww, how wonderful! He’s such a delight! I am quite sure that he is the result of both nature and lots of great nurturing.

  13. Stimey says:

    Ooooh, I have chills. This is so beautiful to read. I LOVE the snow globe with his friends. And, honestly, I can’t think of three better words to describe a child. You and C are exemplary parents. I’ve thought this since I first met you. Add to that the way you’ve taken care of your kids through your illness and there is absolute proof of what wonderful parents you are. And, you’re right, he’s (they’re) going to be okay.

  14. Merry says:

    I understand this. I worry all the time what having and losing a baby brother has done to my girls, how they will be when they are carrying their own first child, having watched me carry and watch their brother die.

    And then they say things, laugh, joke, wrestle, be silly, get angry about who has the best pokemon score – and I know they’ll be okay. Whatever happens to me, this will retreat to a place and a thing they say.

    3/4s of his life ago, my husband lost his mother, when he was 10. He’s here, laughing and smiling and being normal and even though he has also watched his son die last year, he has joy and perspective. And that is a comforting thought.

  15. He IS all those things.

    And YOU are countless great things as a mother.

    I’ve never met two happier little guys!!!!

  16. Aunt Pat says:

    Your boys will always be O K , Because they have a Very loving and Very Caring and AWESOME MOTHER.

    Much Love !

  17. Mary says:

    Your boys will be ok because you are such a great mom and you worry about these things. If it helps my mom was sick most of the time growing up (not cancer but serious digestive issues which impacted our daily life). That is not what I recall about growing up though — I remember the times she could do more physical things with us (teaching ice skating, hiking in the dunes at Lake Michigan), and even at times when she was weaker, the things she found to do with us (reading, always reading, bringing in our TV to school so we could see some of the Apollo launches, etc.). Widget is already showing you what he will take away from this part of his childhood and who could ask for more from any childhood.

  18. Anji says:

    what sweet words! – from one of the moms of those friends who doesn’t yet know you very well and has found you here – you have an amazing family…

  19. Alice C says:

    These words are the end of an equation that starts with the words “Unlimited Love equals…”

  20. Brie says:

    Those are some lovely moments.

  21. JoC says:

    Love this! Fantastic snow globe drawing too! 🙂

    • Cindy Ketzle says:

      You inspire me to be the best person I can be EVERY SINGLE day. “Hope is a thing with feathers” says Emily Dickinson and now it wears a swim suit!! You are in my prayers daily.

  22. Roberta says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this sweet memories with us.

  23. […] posted at Toddler Planet, February 9, […]

