Resting

Things are still tough around these parts.  There have been highlights (homemade frosting! Valentine’s preschool party! normal days!) but then I woke up Saturday feeling awful and haven’t really been able to do much since then.  I tried to go out with some friends that night, but lasted less than half an hour before we had to make our excuses and leave, even as others were arriving.

We called the on-call doc on the way home, and made a detour to urgent care.  She wanted me to go to the hospital, but I was there just last week … so we stopped at urgent care to run a couple tests, get a shot, and a scrip for Cipro, apparently.  Lovely.

Back to the doc again today, as I’m too weak to sit for more than a few minutes, and she says not to worry.  It will be another 5-7 days before I’m 90% back to normal.  Just rest.  Hydrate.  Rest.

So today I rest.

23 Responses to Resting

  1. Bon says:

    i’m sorry you’re feeling awful. hope you get lots of rest and lots of love today.

  2. magpie says:

    Feel better soon.

  3. Oh, Susan, I’m so sorry everything has gone pear shaped and gotten so awful again. I hope that rest does indeed make a big difference and things improve soon. I imagine the hardest part is when your kids want you to be there with and for them and you just can’t.

    It has now been a month and a half since I’ve had anywhere near my full energy and that’s just from my (relatively minor) surgery and then this nasty sinus/bronchial infection. I have had to fob the kids off on others, they have had WAY too much screen time, I can feel how they need me and I just can’t do what I am used to doing for/with them. I can’t wait to get back to my 90%.

    I can only imagine how much harder it would be with your level of fatigue and illness and my heart so goes out to you. I wish I were local so that I could step in and help some real and concrete way.

    Instead I’ll just have to join in with the rest of the (huge) gang sending love and well wishes from afar. (And you know that if that lottery ticket I bought this morning is a winner, just ask for anything and it’s yours!)

  4. justenjoyhim says:

    Oh Susan, I’m so sorry. I wish there were more ways to help. *hugs*, prayers, and lots of love to you.

  5. Niksmom says:

    Sending you peaceful, restful body-healing, spirit-restoring thoughts and prayers.

  6. Love, love, love to you all for Valentine’s Day… dang, I wish they made chocolate gatorade.

    xoxoxo CGF

  7. Jane says:

    Your lavender Sweetheart candy heart made me smile today. I put a box of those Necco Sweethearts in hubby’s car this morning.🙂 Sending Sweetheart Valentines Day wishes for rest surrounded by lots of love.❤

  8. jodifur says:

    It was nice to see you, even if it was briefly. And I meant what I said, I’m available. Please email me when you are up for a visit.

  9. JoC says:

    Sorry for another dip in the rollercoaster. Rest & rehydration will come in handy when the track swings back up. Sending love & healing energy.

  10. Rest and recover well. I’m sending lots of love.

  11. Cin.k says:

    Sending prayers for healing and rest.

  12. k8 says:

    sorry to hear you are feeling poorly {again}….rest, hydrate, recover…..a new mantra….hope you are up and around soon….

    k8

  13. sutari says:

    Susan,

    If it helps, remember that LOTS of people need to rest, hydrate, and recover (myself included). Especially this time of year. Especially when you take on too much. And I happen to KNOW that you had a late night Thursday working and I know that you had a long and tiring day Friday and see that you kept working, because your work is done. So do just REST. You deserve it.

  14. Lindsay says:

    Not that it’s the funnest job in the world, but if resting is your new job, then I’m sure you’ll do it very well. Thinking of you.

  15. Andrea says:

    Gosh, I so want things to be better for you. I hope that rest does the trick. I so hope.

  16. Amy says:

    Love JoC’s comment. I’ll just say I second that!

  17. I’m here. I’m happy to cross the moat and hang out with you when you are up to it. Or I can just sit at the bottom of your bed and attack your feet.

    That’s it. Obviously I’ve become the crazy cat lady.

  18. Ruthie from California says:

    Praying for added strength and for feeling better. Praying for you.

  19. Tracy Keirns says:

    Rest, hydrate, rest, and repeat as often as needed. From what I’ve read on here, you are an amazingly strong woman. You need to remember that even the most powerful people need rest sometime.. Many hugs and much love coming to you from Ohio.

  20. Stimey says:

    I hate reading this. I hope your kiddos and WonderDaddy are giving you lots of cuddles and love.

  21. J.J. says:

    Remember that your body is currently a construction/rebuilding zone. Put up a mental “Pardon Our Dust” sign and give your body some time to build up some healthy cells.

    I can’t remember what cell phone you have, but if you have a iPhone, iPod or similar device that can play PocketFrogs (see the app store), I find that to be soothing and something you can actually share with the kids as you breed and grow frogs digitally. Comprehending the genetic possibilities may appeal to your scientific side.

  22. I’m here, we’re here. Reading. and praying.

  23. […] drugs I was on, the neutropenia the meds induced, the highly elevated blood pressure, and the kidney infection that I battled without even knowing it for […]

